today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-12-10 - 8:26 a.m.

My seeeeeester, BlueSleepy gave me the idea for today's blog entry.

She wrote about ornaments. I also prefer to add sentimental ornaments to my tree than litter it with ordinary, store-bought bulbs. For me, this tradition started in 1990 back when I was still in high school. For my Christmas that year, my grandparents gave me an ornament. I called and thanked my Grandma and told her that I really enjoyed having my own special ornament from her and Grandpa.

The next year, she sent another ornament. And the year after that. On the forth year, she was worried that her gift idea was too repetitious but I assured her that it was not. I explained how wonderful it is to have a unique ornament to one day put on my own tree when I got older.

She has continued this tradition since. In fact, the year before last she got really creative--- since she has 12 grandkids, she got each of us an ornament that represented one of the 12 days of Christmas. I ended up with Two Turtledoves. (Which one did you get again, Sis??) I have also received ornaments from other people, too....

One year, my Aunt Sue gave me an ornament that has a mouse? in a chef's outfit, holding a bowl & wooden spoon sitting atop a copper "cookie cutter". Last year, a co-worker gave me a snowman s'mores ornament. My sister has given me a few along the way; a "W" for our last name with sparkly crystals on it and this year, two handpainted ornaments with each of my niece's photos inside.

Just like Karyl & Kurt, Ben and I select a special ornament just for us. At the end of Christmas when it's time to pluck all the ornaments from the tree and place them lovingly back into their designated boxes, I feel a little sad because it's as thought I'm putting away tiny memories for another year.

And, in case you're wondering, whenever I am given an ornament I always write the year that it was received and the person who gifted it to me---unless it's obvious like in the case with the photo ornaments. The onese that don't come with a box are wrapped in tissue paper and placed into a Ziploc back and I label those on the bag itself.

Two of the best things about collecting these unique ornaments over the years are:

--Knowing that after my grandparents sadly leave this earth, I'll always have lots of tokens to remember them

--One day, I can pass along the ornaments to a future child and by then, some of them will be considered "antique"!

If I feel zesty, perhaps over my time off from work I will take a few photos for your viewing pleasure. I should also count how many I have! I have no idea at this point.

I hope your holidays are as bright, festive and SPARKLY as mine.... hee hee hee....

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey