today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-11-11 - 6:47 a.m.

Anyone here familiar with that game show from the 80s called Deal Of The Century? I used to *love* watching that. (Then again, I am a big enthusiast of game shows in general!)

So, there I was in Super Target on Sunday buying some much needed groceries and paper products, etc. I try to go to the produce section last so that the items that need to stay cold will stay colder longer. I made my way over to the apples. Since apple season has begun, I've been buying apples like crazy. And, I've mentioned before how some apples don't have as long as a 'season' as other apples. (Not sure why.) For example, Honeycrisp---my most favorite of all apples---is only around for maybe 2 months. And, of course, they're the mosts expensive. Leave it to me to have champagne taste in my APPLES for gawd's sake!

I've been so crazy as to pay $2.49 a pound for these babies. I mean, they're THAT GOOD. For about two weeks, Super Target had them on sale for $1.49 and I thought that was a steal given the fact that all the "regular" apples have been priced at $1.69 to $1.89 a pound for months.

Then it happened.

{Cue the Hallulejah Chorus}

I. Saw. A. Sign. For. 75 Cents. A. Pound.!!!!

I shook my head. I was skeptical. If you could have seen the way the sign was displayed you would have thought that it was a mistake just as I did. I saw an employee milling about the produce section. I called him over. I asked him to please check on this price cuz it just didn't seem right. He tried to enter the product code on his pricing gun. Nothing. He called on his radio to the "back" (the Ubiquitous Back Area...hee hee) and asked another employee. He didn't know the price either. Finally, the guy who was checking the price for me grabbed an apple, walked over the the registers and rang it up.

He walked back over to me and said, "Yes, they're ringing up for 75 cents a pound." I was so ecstatic that I let out a little squeal. You'd have thought I was the million dollar winner on Deal or No Deal.

Lemme tell ya, I loaded up. I really would have loved to just taken the whole lot of 'em, but 1) I'm not made of that much money and 2) if I were, it wouldn't be fair to anyone else who'd want to snag the same deal.

I walked outta there with over 10lbs of apples, I believe. I know that I bought about 22 apples total for less than $10.00! Usually, I spend about $7 on average for about 6 to 8 apples depending on their weight.

My fridge (and my tummy) will be filled with apples for quite some time.... but you won't hear me complaining!!!

Wonder if I'll catch another deal like that again?

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!




2008-11-10 - 6:57 a.m.

It's been a strangely karmical (is this a word?) weekend....

I was on my way to get some much needed items from Super Target, just beep-bopping along when suddenly, I see car debris fly up into the air about 20 or 30 feet. My brain was a little slow to process this information it had just seen but I realized that a car accident had just occurred right in front of me. I immediately pulled over to the side in a turn lane (it was a safe place especially considering that the road was only a 3 lane thoroughfare), hopped out of my car and rushed over to the victims to see if they were alright. As I was getting out of the car, I called 911 and gave them all the pertinent information they needed.

As I approached the vehicle I noticed that the driver of the car that was hit was also on his cell phone. He was very appreciative that I stopped to check on him as well as his passengers.

While I know I can't really give a clear description to paint the picture properly, I'll do my best.

I was travelling east on this major road called Commercial. Two vehicles were in front of me a bit of a distance. One was a mid-sized, black SUV and the other was a muted silver or grey, late-model Toyota Corolla. The black SUV hit the Corolla in the left rear of the car. This sent the car veering off the road, just like you see on Cops or Disorderly Conduct when they perform a P.I.T. maneuver.

The next part of the story is just... well, unbelieveable. The SUV continued down the road, accelerating at a faster speed than normal, but didn't seem to be speeding excessively as you might predict with a "hit-and-run" type accident. The Corolla somehow managed to fly up onto this 5 foot embankment and crash its left headlight-area directly into a palm tree.

What is just astounding about that is the fact that just a few yards down the embankment is a large LAKE! Secondly, given the fact that the car was an older vehicle (I'd say in the mid- to late 80s) there were NO airbags. Add to this that there were 2 elderly women in the vehicle and one was in the passenger's seat. The entire trunk was smooshed to the point that I could see most of the contents. The back windshield was completely shattered as well from the severe impact of the car nailing the base of the tree.

Turns out that the gentleman driving the car was with another man and their respective mothers on the way to church. They were going about their Sunday routine--- doing seomthing that they do often and were involved in this awful accident. And, of course, they were only a few miles from home when they were hit. That statistic is so true--- most accidents occur within 5 miles of home.

There were no MAJOR injuries though the elderly woman in the front seat *was* taken out of the car with a neck brace on a stretcher. The worst part is that the other car that caused the damage can't be held responsible.

I truly believe that their Guardian Angels saved them from sustaining life-threatening injuries or worse, death.

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey