today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2007-07-14 - 6:52 a.m.

First... yesterday's entry was brought to you by the letter "B"!

Karyl pointed out that all my commentors had a name that started with "B" which was right in line with an entry about blueberries! Hmmm....

Ok, so a few of you wanted the recipe. Here ya go: (Ree--when you come visit, I *promise* to make these for you!)

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

INGREDIENTS:
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup white sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/3 cup canola oil
1 egg
1/3 cup milk
1 cup fresh blueberries
1/2 cup white sugar
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup butter, cubed
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Grease muffin cups or line with muffin liners.

2. Combine 1 1/2 cups flour, 3/4 cup sugar, salt and baking powder. Place vegetable oil into a 1 cup measuring cup; add the egg and enough milk to fill the cup. Mix this with flour mixture. Fold in blueberries. Fill muffin cups right to the top, and sprinkle with crumb topping mixture.

3. To Make Crumb Topping: Mix together 1/2 cup sugar, 1/3 cup flour, 1/4 cup butter, and 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon. Mix with fork, and sprinkle over muffins before baking.

4. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes in the preheated oven, or until done.

This recipe is for BIG muffins, so if you're using standard muffin tins/liners, I was able to get 18 muffins out of one batch and I cooked them for about 18 minutes. For those of you who have a KitchenAid mixer, I recommend throwing all the ingredients for the streusel topping in on speed two and let 'er do all the work for you. Then, dump that into a separate bowl, wipe it clean and proceed to put all of the dry then wet ingredients back into your mixer bowl. Again, mix on speed 2 and VOILA! you'll have your batter. Of course, you'll still have to fold the blueberries in by hand before filling the cups/liners.

If any of you try out this recipe, I'd love to hear your results!

I'll try to write again later... but I'm gonna be running errands so I might not get to it. Perhaps I'd be better off just waiting until tomorrow. Hopefully this entry will satify you in the meantime!

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!

ps-- meatless BoXx... I don't know if you use dairy products or not, but if you don't want to use butter, I use a product called "Earth Balance" (different than Smart Balance but same company) and it works very well. I also used vanilla Silk in place of regular milk, too. If you want more details, just email me.









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey