today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-04-15 - 7:09 a.m.

Someone left an anonymous comment asking about the legality of paying a man more than a woman for doing the same job.

Well, I guess this person hasn't been reading my page very long. I don't do the same job as my friend, KK. He's an air traffic controller and I am an administrative coordinator. Not only that, but in his line of work a man can be paid more than a woman and vice versa depending upon his/her credentials and qualifications. In addition, pay is also based on the program that was offered at the time you joined the FAA. For example, one of my co-workers came in back in 1983 and his check is more than someone who joined just a few years later because the program had changed.

Also, I do belong to a union. Just so you know. Hope that answers your question. I hope that next time you leave a comment, you also leave your name so I know who you are. :-)

It's really chilly here this morning. (For south Florida) It's only 54� this morning. It's supposed to get up to 75� which is still cool for us this time of year. I don't really mind it though as odd as that sounds.

Now on to serious topics... and if I offend anyone here, I apologize in advance.

Call me old fashioned but I just don't see the point in finding out the gender of your baby before you deliver. To me, it seems that what's the point of the pregnancy? It's like waiting for Christmas day. If someone told you in July all the things they'd buy you for gifts, wouldn't you be disappointed?

To me, I think the best part of being pregnant is going to be the surpised to see whether or not I'm having a girl (yay!) or a boy (not yay. ---just kidding!) And as far as planning ahead of time I think a baby's room/nursery with earth tones to start and pink or blue (or even green or yellow) for accents is pretty. I can't remember her name, but there was a girl on diaryland that I used to read and she had the PRETTIEST baby's room ever. It was painted a mint green and the theme was a garden. It's hard to describe it and give it justice but it was stunning.

And really, why pink & blue? Don't get me wrong like my sister I've become fond of pink over the years (I happen to be wearing a long-sleeved, V-neck pink sweater at the moment) but why were colors ever "assigned" to gender. Things to make you go hmmm...

What started this tangent was an invitation to Ben's cousin's Baby Shower. She's having a boy and it says so on the card. I have mixed feelings about going to a baby shower.

On the one hand, it'd be fun to interact with a bunch of people and have "girl time" but on the other I feel like I'd be so out of place. If you've been reading me for awhile you're aware of my conflict about having a baby. There are days I think I do and days I'm not sure.

And I'm really feeling left out because hardly anyone I know (friends ----not those online & family [minus my sister because that's different]) are having babies. Ben has 3 cousins that are having babies this year. My friend, Sheray is due next month. Last August my friend Melissa delivered. Even my friend, Alicia had a son 2 years ago. I think I'm the only one left (in my age bracket) that doesn't have a kid or isn't pregnant.

I feel like an outcast. At the same time this feeling is not a catalyst to make plans to get pregant, either.

Is it wrong of me to not be excited about all the babies "in my life"? (again, Sis not referring to you... I'm excited for you!!)

Am I a freak because I *STILL* don't know if I want a baby for 100% sure. I sometimes have a hard time deciding which salad dressing to buy!!!

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey