today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2006-05-15 - 11:33 a.m.

I need your help, Diarylanders!

Yesterday, I spent a good portion of my day baking a cake. I took 2 different recipes that I got from www.allrecipes.com and combined elements from each one that I really liked.

As a result, I have an entirely new recipe to call my own!! Yipee! However, I have no idea what to call this divine confection.

I made this cake for Ben's co-worker, Sammy--- a disabled Vietnam vet, who despite chronic pain from his injuries of years gone by, carries on with a positive attitude! He exemplifies happiness against all odds and certainly deserved a special cake on his special day! (Today is his birthday.)

I had enough batter left over to make a smaller cake--- this allowed Ben, Chelsea, and I to sample a slice of the yummy goodness for ourselves without disrupting the artistry of the afore mentioned cake.

And damn but it was good and I'm not even a "cake person". I like this recipe because the flavor of the chocolate is not overshadowed by the overt sweetness of sugar. In fact, for a cake, it's really not too sweet. I pride myself on trying to taste the flavor of a food instead of the salt/sugar, etc. in the recipe.

Here's the finished product:

Cake1


and another view...

Cake2

Now, what do I call it?!?!?

Until next time... peace, love, & HEALTH!!!

ps---this cake is loaded with chocolate inside and out (as you can see!)









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey