today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2007-05-15 - 10:38 a.m.

One the most annoying things I have to deal with in my job relates to passwords. It�s not enough that you have to have a password for EVERYTHING, but you�re required to change your password for each program every 3 months. I have a wheel book (for you Navy folks, you�ll know what I�m talkin� about!) set aside just for the purpose of keeping track of all my passwords. In addition, I have to keep track of a number of John�s passwords, too. (He often has me log into a program under his User ID, etc.)

But wait� there�s MORE!

Some of these gawdforesaken programs have requirements. Yeah. RULES as to how you set up your password. Most rules are not too crazy. For example, for Lotus Notes (our email program) you�re required X number of characters plus you must have one capitalized letter in addition to one numeric character. Okay. That�s not sooooo bad.

Get this!

Yesterday, I received a letter in the mail indicating that I needed to log on with my temporary ID and temporary password. Then it instructs you to change your password immediately.

However..comm.. (--- that�s for you Ree!)

These are the rules that came with the notice:
� Your password must be 8 alphanumeric characters in length (which provides greater security.
� An alpha character must be used as the first and last character and at least one alpha character must be embedded in the password. �#�, �$� and �@� are considered alpha characters.
� Your password must contain at least two embedded numbers.
� Your password cannot contain all alpha or all numeric characters.
� You will be required to change your password to a new valid password (using these rules) every 90 days.

WTF?!?!?

::shakes head violently side to side::

Yeah. Okay. I need a shot of whiskey after reading that!
How �bout you??

Until next time�peace, love & HEALTH!!!

ps--- a few hours after I wrote this entry, I received an email where I had to come up with 2 MORE funky passwords. Three in one day!! My brain hurts!!!!!!!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey