today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-06-16 - 3:31 p.m.

I am such a geek. Like totally... major geek.

I've been communicating with this woman in Boston who is one of our HR people. She helps me with certain personnel issues that I need to resolve for our technicians. It can be anything from changing their status on official documents so that they're assigned (on paper) to the right facility to changing the status of their pay due to being sent on a detail or accepting a temporary promotion. She's also in charge of the time in service awards and pins. For example, our one and only female technician just received her 20 year certificate and pin.

Anywho... so I've had a few conversations with her to try to straighten out some issues we're having at our facility. Usually when I call her we end up having a 20 minute chat. She's very open and friendly that way. Of course, I don't mind a bit because it's nice to have a mid-day chat to break up the monotony of the workday. Today we talked about everything from a great crab restaurant in Miami to the Bubba Gump's in Times Square (which both of us have had the pleasure of dining at) to what the best cruise line is (NOT Norweigan if anyone was wondering; Royal Caribbean is top notch according to her). You get the gist of the multi-facted conversation that she and I had.

And then somehow.. I forget how but it was a perfect segu� in our conversation..she mentions that her nephew is...
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Wait for it....
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Got any guesses? Ok, I'll just tell you. BOBBY BROWN.

Yes, THE Bobby Brown and I don't mean the make-up artist. I was like, "C'mon. You're pulling my leg." She said, "No. I promise I'm not."

Still in disbelief I said, "Seriously. You're just kidding me." She replied, "Nope. Really, and my grand-niece is Bobbi Christina."

My jaw was on the carpet when she followed her last statement with: "Yeah, my sister is his mother." I just couldn't believe it! And then she proceeded to tell me where all of Whitney's houses or condos are located; Georgia, California, Florida, New Jersey and so on. She explained that on the same private island near Miami where Whitney has a condo, so does Steven Tyler. She mentioned that a LOT of celebrities have condos on that island. (which is probably why so many show up in South Beach)

She even told me about how once, Bobby decided to take his entire family (including extended members) as well as his entourage to a Chinese restaurant and went to pay the bill but didn't have his credit card with him. One of his bodyguards had to retrieve his personal credit card and pay for the whole thing lock, stock & barrel.

She told me that when she goes to Atlanta to visit her grand-niece, a car is sent directly to the airport to whisk her away directly to Whitney's home.

So then I had to ask the obvious... "So why are you working for the FAA???" (She has 30 years of total government service.) She said, "A lot of people ask me that and I always reply: 'Because HIS money is HIS and his FAME is his, not mine. And when he comes to visit family, the ego has to be checked at the door."

She told me too that Eddie Murphy was married at the Benjamin Hotel which is the same place that Ben and I stay at when we go to NYC. She said that the only reason she knows that is because Bobby mentioned it. Apparently he's friends (not sure how close) with Eddie.

At the end of the conversation I still was in awe. I had to go across the room to find my jaw because it had fallen off and rolled away from me in the process of the conversation.

I told her that I felt so special because I know someone who knows SOMEONE. I mean, that's the smallest degree of separation of Kevin Bacon that I've ever encountered.

Definitely a very neat experience for sure. I wonder how many other people I've talked to in my life that are related to or friends with a celebrity and I didn't even know it?!?

Awestruck after the conversation, I had to immediately tell Ben. See, I told you I was a geek!

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey