today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-10-16 - 6:40 a.m.

Did you know that the National Safety Council has revised their instructions for administering CPR?

Yeah. I didn't know they would want to do that but apparently according to the class I took yesterday they change the guidelines every few years. Now, instead of giving 15 chest compressions, you give 30. And apparently you have to do this in 5 cycles before reassessing the situation as to whether or not the person is breathing. It was quite interesting to say the least.

And, apparently now you have to ask someone if you can administer first aid or CPR or even the Heimlich maneuver before actually givin it to them. So, if someone is choking and they say you cannot touch them (you ask them in a yes or no format obviously so that they can shake their head one direction or the other to indicate their answer) then you cannot touch them. And, if you do anyway they have the right to sue you! WOW!

The exception to this rule is if the person is unconscious or if the person needing help is a minor under the age of 18 without any parents or guardians around. I'm glad I was trained, but I truly hope I never need to use it!

And, check this out! (Sis, you'll find this interesting/cool) One of the guys in our class is allergic to almonds and so he carries around an Epi pen. The instructor asked him to bring it in from his car so we all could see it. I'd never seen one up close and personal. And, these things are color-coded for adults versus children. I also didn't know that if you ever have to administer an Epi pen to someone then you should inject them into the meatiest part of their left thigh. Hmm! The things you learn.

Speaking of the left, the Recovery Postion puts the victim on their left side. I think I recall that this has something to do with the location of your heart. And, apparently if someone is having a seizure the best thing is to completely LEAVE THEM ALONE! It used to be taught long ago to try to lay them down but apparently they have so much adrenaline running through them, etc., that you can be seriously injured. And the instructor made it VERY clear to NEVER EVER EVER put anything in their mouth. (Years ago, you were supposed to put the back of a spoon on their tongue or something.)

It's fascinating to me that something like First Aid and CPR training could have changes made to them over the years. You would think this would be the type of thing to remain steady and stable throughout time. Neat!

I just hope and pray that if I ever *do* have to use this training that I remain calm and remember everthing I'm supposed to do and keep from doing anything that I'm not!

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey