today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-09-16 - 6:51 a.m.

THANK YOU everyone for the supportive comments yesterday. I truly had no idea that so many of you guys cared for me. I mean.. cared about me... wait, this isn't coming out the way I want it to come out. Anyway, it's nice to know that Ben isn't the ONLY one in this world who "loves" me. I still struggle with this, however.

As I was rushing around this morning trying to get ready for work, I had a great topic to discuss with you loyal readers. But alas, it escapes me. As it often does.

OH! I think it just came back to me. Wow! Who knew the powers of coffee?? Ha, ha.

Anyway, so...there's this new ATC that just started working here yesterday. Well, that's not entirely true. Apparently he used to work here and then he transferred to Miami and now he's back here again. I have to say, he's just one of those people that you meet and you're instantly drawn to him/her. He had a wonderful aura. He was outgoing, enthusiastic, funny... an all-around great guy. I'd even go as far to say that he seems like a kindred spirit.

We were chatting in the front office---me at my desk, he sitting in front of the AT secretary's desk-- and he was asking me all kinds of questions. Where am I from, how long have I worked here, do I have any kids, etc. We even talked about the military for a bit. Then, I forget how this came into the conversation, but he said something to the effect of , "What are you, like 18, 19?" I cocked my head sideways and said, "C'mon. You can't be serious. Puh-lease!" He then asked me how long I've worked here and I told him almost 2 years. He remembered that I said that I was in the Navy and he knew that I was married. I could see him doing all of these "calculations" in his head. Finally, he said, "Ok. Seriously, you're what, 26?"

In disbelief I said, "Are you just trying to be nice and get on my good side or are you really serious? Do you honestly think that I'm 26?" He replied, "I honestly would say that you're 26."

WOW! Talk about make my day! I revealed that in December, I'll be 34. His jaw fell down to the ground. I said to him, "The ironic part of this conversation is the fact that one of the new developmentals said the same thing to me about 3 or 4 weeks ago. He also thought that I was 26!"

I am blessed with good genes, but I also firmly believe that all the good things I do for my body (inside and out) also contribute to my youthful appearance. A lot of people don't realize that the 3 main causes of physical aging (especially in the face) are: 1) smoking; 2) drinking excessively and very often; and 3) not using sunscreen. Of course, poor eating habits (someone who is addicted to junk and fast food) will age you faster, too.

I had the opposite happen to me when I was younger. On a Saturday during a summer, my mom took me to the bar where she was the day manager. I was in the game room playing Ms. Pac-Man when these two guys invited me to shoot pool with them. I declined but decided to chat with them while they played each other. At some point one of them said something (I don't recall) about age. They both guessed that I was 19. I felt so proud at that moment. I was only THIRTEEN! Of course, looking back now that I'm an adult, that's a bit scary isn't it?!?

Anywho...now that I think about it a lot of people have tried to guess my age and usually come up with 26 or 27. I think that's just groovy!

I've never understood when someone is offended when other people think they look a lot younger than they're actual age. As long as someone doesn't treat me like I'm a younger person (for example: with less respect because they don't think I'm a full-fledged adult) then I am bothered by that.

The best part of looking youthful is that I also FEEL youthful. I have to remind myself that I'm in my thirties now because it just doesn't seem real to me.

I hope I maintain my youthful appearance, attitude and physical well-being as long as I possibly can!

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey