today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-04-17 - 6:25 a.m.

Have I mentioned that my new manager is super awesome? I am getting along with him quite well. He's very considerate and polite, too. At the same time, he's firm when he needs to be (we have some rowdy guys here!) and fun when it's appropriate.

We usually go to lunch together. Sometimes the coordinator joins us and there are days where a few techs will tag along as well. Yesterday it was a little past noon and I asked him if we were going to lunch. He showed me a note one of the techs had left on his desk requesting to go out to lunch with the manager only. Apparently the tech had some personal business to discuss with the manager. Feeling badly, Adan offered to bring something back for me. I asked where they were going to lunch. He said he didn't know yet. About 45min later he called and said that he was at Polly Tipico (a Dominican/Cuban restaurant). He knows I order the same thing everytime I go: Mangoo. (not sure the correct spelling but that's how it's pronounced)

William, a tech here, explained to me that basically they boil yucca root and then make it into a mashed potato kind of thing with olive oil and top it with saut�ed white onions. It doesn't look pretty--- kind of looks like greyish mashed potatoes---but it's tasty! And, they make their own hot sauce to boot. They should bottle that stuff cuz it's just absolutely DEE-LISH!

Well, he came back to the office with a container of mangoo and hot sauce on the side in little container with lids. He even paid for it. Isn't that cool??

In other news, remember the other day I mentioned how I was going to be using the worst software program within the FAA?!?!? Well, for some reason I had NO struggles. You see, GovTrip (the program) is N O T user friendly...

At. All.

EVERYONE hates this program because it's so challenging to use. Seriously, it's mind boggling. It's so bad that my password is GovTripSux--- I kid you not! And when you meet someone or talk to them on the phone and mention the word "GovTrip" instantly the person gives groans in response.

Yeah. It's that bad. I swear-to-gawd!

Well the biggest obstacle in GovTrip is entering the accounting string. This is usually provided to the person creating the travel authorization. However, 9 times out of 10 the string is WRONG. Not just a few digits off but completely WRONG.

The accounting string I was given fit perfectly. It was such a smooth evolution!! It took me 20 minutes to complete the travel authorization for Adan who is going to be attending a Manager's Workshop in May. Normally, this process takes ALL day. Sometimes it has spilled over into the NEXT day.

Then Adan let me book his flight. I've never done that for a manager before. Usually they do it themselves. I offered this time. I figured he had a lot on his plate and it wouldn't take me that long.

BOY WAS I WRONG!

You see, we HAVE to ask for the Federal Gov't CONTRACTED Rate. This is different than the Gov't Rate. First, I called AirTran. Three minutes later, I had a quote. Then I called Spirit.

In the words of Julia Roberts in "Pretty Woman", "Big mistake! BIG! HUGE!"

Suffice it to say that after 3 phone calls, 45 minutes on hold total, and 2 incompetent, out-sourced reps I had HAD it. I was pissed. I can't believe how UGLY was was to the 2nd woman I spoke to. I mean, if you had been here you would have seen the Devil horns, steam rolling out of my ears and my veins pulsing. It was that bad. Oh, I forgot to mention that it took me FIFTEEN minutes to even find a Customer Service phone number from their crappy website. Finally, I called AirTran back and booked the flight.

So there you have it. That was my yesterday in nutshell.

I have a feeling that this one will be immensely better!

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey