today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-01-17 - 12:40 p.m.

Stolen from my sister....

Four jobs I have had in my life:

1. The very first job I had, I worked at Great America Amusement Park. My best friend at the time, Kayce, had already been working there so I decided to get a job, too. I worked during the summer. I had a blast! I started at $4.75 which, at the time was 50 cents more than minimum wage and I was as happy as a clam. I worked for the Food Services division. In the mornings we either prepped cotton candy (those machines are HOT!) or nachos---we pre-filled the plastic containers with tortilla chips. I remember distinctly that my friend, Brad and I would try to race to see who could get the most racks filled. (We had trays of containers stacked on racks of a wheeled dolly-like apparatus.) While we filled the trays, we rocked out to the local heavy metal station. Then, when prep was complete, they sent us to our various stations around the park. We operated the food kiosks that sold snacks and soda. The next summer, I made a whopping $5.15/hr which, again, was a lot of money to a teenager when minimum wage was $4.75.

2. The summer after 11th grade, I went from Illinois to Virginia to live with my mom. She wanted me to have a job until school started. I found one at a local Mom & Pop restaurant as a dishwasher. I made less than minimum wage. It was disgraceful. After about 3 or 4 weeks, they said they were going to give me some time off to prepare for the school year. (Getting registered, clothes, books, etc.) After that, they�d hire me for weekends. I worked 2 weekends and then stopped by to pick up my check and my schedule for the next weekend (hours) when POOF! the restaurant wasn�t there! It had burned to a crisp! (Nice of them to tell me, eh?) My mom thought at the time that it was an insurance scam. I think she was right.

3. March of '92, I got a job with Subway. Oh, how I loved that job. However, it wasn�t until much later in life that I realized that my boss, Ken (the owner) would sexually harass me. He never touched me, but the things he would say to me sure made me quite uncomfortable and back then, it took a LOT for that to happen. However, my day manager, Louise was sweet and my evening manager, Ricky was awesome. In fact, I went to my very first concert (Ozzy) with him! I was such an awesome sandwich 'artist'. In fact, to this day I always ask when I go to Subway if they can cut my sub the "old fashioned" way--- cut a big U out of the bread instead of just slicing it wide open on 3 sides.

4. Then in November of that year, (I had graduated in June) I got laid off from Subway. Business was slow (it was cold) and I was the only employee who still lived at home with a parent even though I technically had seniority over the other girl (not Louise). My mom decided that I still needed to come up with the $200/mo rent that I owed her (on my graduation day, she handed me a legal sized piece of paper indicating that from that day forward, I was to pay her $200 per month). Now, keep in mind that I still had 6 months to go until I turned 18 and legally she was really supposed to stay responsible for me. Anyhow, I tried to get a job but no one was hiring. All the college kids home on winter break had the part time work. Finally, my mom comes up with the brilliant idea to ask a friend of hers to give me a job. Connie just so happened to own a go-go bar and my mom got me a job as a waitress. (I kid you not!)

Four places I have lived:
1. Virginia
2. northern Illinois
3. Georgia
4. Florida

Four places I�ve been on vacation:
1. Michigan
2. NYC, New York
3. ?
4. ?

Four of my favorite foods:
1. steamed Alaskan crab legs
2. scallops
3. grouper or mahi
4. FRENCH FRIES (by the way, I am founder and president of F.F.A.) *wink*

Four places I�d rather be right now:
1. At home� not sure what I want to do.
2. With friends doing something fun.
3. Playing Candyland with my niece.
4. Far, far away under a rock.









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey