today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2006-04-18 - 7:41 p.m.

In the last few years, I�ve come to realize a few things...most importantly I�ve learned that if something is "out of the norm" it becomes controversial. Take my sister�s diary entry for example. She�s written about this subject before; about how she (and I) doesn�t understand why so many people have such an aversion to gay people, especially in a parenting capacity.

Being gay isn�t the "norm" so therefore it�s ridiculed, judged, and denounced. It seems "strange" and rather than learn about something new and different, it�s easier criticize it.

This behavior is learned in our society. (Quite unfortunately, I might add.) When a child enters elementary school and one of his classmates stands out from the crowd, that "odd-ball" becomes the center of mockery and so forth. It�s easier to make someone who is "different" the scapegoat for your problems than it is to take a moment to learn his story and feel compassion and/or empathy.

Instead of parents embracing differences among children, they subtly teach their offspring to shun others who are not like "us. This sick behavior has manifested itself in many forms starting with segregation among races. How sad is it that we, as a society---one that is FOUNDED on differences---teach the younger generations how to cruelly treat one another because we're not all exactly alike?

And there are times I can relate to gays. Not from a sexual perspective, but I can relate in the sense that often I feel ridiculed, judged and even denounced. I�m looked at through distorted lenses because I don�t happen to have the same culinary habits as the general population. And I find myself justifying it when instead I should be explaining it just as one would an algebraic equation. I am delighted when I discover a celebrity who is not only respected among the "common folk" for their craft, but happens to also be a vegetarian! It�s as if in the back of my mind I�m hoping that I won't be rejected now that a famous celebrity has revealed that s/he is like me---a vegetarian. Then again, I�ve noticed that a lot of vegetarian celebrities aren�t overly forthcoming with their dining habits. (Perhaps they, too are worried about disapproval from their fans and critics alike.

I want to feel proud that I treat my body with respect... Like an avid car collector who fuels his automobiles with only premium gas and synthetic oil, so do I treat my internal engine. I want to proudly wear this badge of health, but I find myself hiding it more than displaying it for fear of being judged. And, I�ve noticed that I�m quick to point out that I�m not "in it" for P.E.T.A. reasons and yet, there�s a part of me that feels relief knowing that an animal wasn�t inhumanely killed when I sit down to eat a meal.

I can only hope that one day, when/if I have a child that raising her as vegetarian will not cause her grief among her classmates. I want her to be different, but in the uniquely human way that all children---people---are different.

I just want to be like gay people:


A C C E P T E D.

Until next time...peace, love, & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey