today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2004-02-18 - 6:32 a.m.

DISCLAIMER:In no way, shape or form am I racist or against anyone of any nationality. The ethnic references in this entry are said with funny sarcasm and meant to be just that... funny. I intend no offense or harm to my loyal readers.

{deep breath}

Ok, having said that here goes today's entry...

I wanna know if I have a magical, neon sign attached to my forehead. One that reads: "If You Are A Black or Hispanic Male, Please Feel Free To Hit On Me".

Two weekends ago I was in Memphis. We were visiting Ben's brother and his family. Another buddy of Ben's and his brother's also drove up for the weekend with his family as well. My S-I-L and the buddy's wife and I all took a trip to the local health food store, Wild Oats. While T. and P. were browsing at the smoothie counter, I was further down looking at the hot foods counter. We were all hungry and decided to have lunch there. I asked the guy if I could have a sample of the tuna. He hands it to me and then proceeds to flirt with me. At one point he asks me, "Are you a banker? You look like a banker." Inside I'm just reeling because this is so unbelievable to me. First off, I was wearing a sweatshirt, faded boot cut jeans, sneakers and my black "poufy" jacket. Oh, and my hair was back in a ponytail. I couldn't have looked further from a banker if I had tried. He had more cheese in his flirting than the entire state of Wisconsin!!

That's encounter #1. Just for reference sake, the guy was black. A nice guy, don't get me wrong but terrible at flirting.

Next we have encounters #2 and #3. The night before last we needed to gas up the Saturn. We pull into a Flying J and fill up. I had to pee so I went inside the store to use the restroom. As I was rounding corner where the restrooms were located, I nearly bumped into a man and his 3 boys coming out of the men's room. I politely said, "Excuse me." He glances me up and down and replies, "No. Excuuuuuuuse me!" (as if I were fresh meat.) It was disgusting for him to talk to me like that especially in front of his 3 young & impressionable sons. He was also a black guy.

I use the restroom and then walk into the main part of the store to find Ben. As I walk past the aisle where he was browsing truck accessories, I noticed a tall, heavyset black guy diggin' the XM Radio display. I had to walk past him in order to get to Ben. As I do so he too looks me up and down and exclaims, "Day-yum!!!"

I'm beyond belief now. Ben pays for our fuel and we get back into the car and leave. I tell him what happened. He just shook his head. I said to him, "What is with black guys & hispanics? They are almost always hitting on me! White guys could care less. They never hit on me. I think it's all the junk in my trunk... black guys and hispanic guys totally dig a big butt. White guys want tall, leggy, and stick-thin girls like in the Victoria's Secret Catalog! Just once, just one time, I would love it if a WHITE GUY WOULD HIT ON ME!!!"

At this point Ben is just rolling with laughter. Of course, I made that speech with a touch of sarcasm in my voice. Besides, don't you find it funny that I'm telling my HUSBAND that I want a guy to hit on me?? :o) hee, hee, hee...

Seriously though people, it is very common for a guy to flirt with me and to be from another ethic background. I'm beginning to wonder if I just don't measure up within my own ethnicity!

Thought Of The Day: "Boys will be boys, and so will a lot of middle-aged men." --Kin Hubbard (1868 - 1930)

Until next time.. peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey