today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-09-18 - 3:27 a.m.

When you're feeling low and having a tough time of it, do you know the best remedy for that?

I'll tell ya.

Dr. Michele in da house!

Okay, all kidding aside... the best thing to do is help someone who is REALLY having a rough go of it. I know I've mentioned before in this blog that I don't always get along with the other girl in the front office. Well, miraculously for a few months now she and I have gotten on quite well. We even laugh and joke with each other. It's made things a lot better especially with all the other drama I've been going through with my job.

I don't want to air her dirty laundry here on my blog, but for the purpose of making my original point, I'll just say that she's a single mom with 2 teenage boys and in this economy, things are *extremely* tight for her. Not only does she have 2 teenage boys to care for, but she pays to send them both to private, Catholic school.

Needless to say I've unfortunately overheard some of the conversations she's had with companies regarding her finances. Finally, my heart sunk into my stomach when I heard her call the power company to ask for an extension. I just couldn't bear it any longer. Don't get me wrong, Ben and I aren't living "fat on the hog" and we struggle too, but we can at least pay all of our bills, every month and in full. Granted, we don't have gobs left over to "play" with, but we can still go out to dinner or to a movie, etc.

On the way home, Ben and I needed some salad making items and I suggested to him that I buy her a giftcard to Publix. I figured that at least I could help her by giving her "money" for groceries (I can't imagine what it's like to feed TWO TEENAGED BOYS... hell, I have ONE ADULT HUSBAND and he eats quite a bit!) so that might leave her a little leftover to pay some of her other bills.

I went to the Customer Service desk and loaded a gift card with $75. Ben walked over to me (he was paying for the groceries) and asked if I got a card. I said that I hadn't but I probably should. And I found the PERFECT card. You know a card is well written while in the middle of a GROCERY store, your eyes well with tears....

When we're dealing with a difficult time in our lives, like you are right now, it's easy to feel like we've lost the light along our path. We wonder why these things happen and no one can give us an answer--but I hope it helps to remember that these moments are a part of life...they teach us to rreasure the happy times and appreciate the little things. I don't know why things are the way they are for you right now, but I want you to know...Even through the rough times, just like through the good times, I'm here for you and you can count on me."

After reading this and putting a lot of stock into what she's battling, it definitely made me not worry as much about the things that are troubling me lately (i.e.; yesterday's blog). She doesn't have anyone to lean on like I do with Ben.

It's amazing how things in the world work; I think I was *meant* to have this epiphany. And, writing about it this morning has cemented my feelings that the topic of yesterday's blog entry pales in comparison to this real-life situation that is unraveling unfolding before my very eyes.

And when she opens the card and sees the gift card inside, I think it will make the rest of her week shine a little brighter.

In the end, isn't that what life is *REALLY* all about? Helping someone else who needs it more than yourself?

I just know it is.

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!

ps--tomorrow, dear readers remind me to talk about networking and horizons......










Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey