today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-07-01 - 6:50 a.m.

First, let me start with an apology... to all of the regulars that I read and who read me, I've been away in Atlanta for what the FAA termed as "training". Of course, those of you familiar with the government and specfically, the FAA know that "training" is anything but.

Having said that, I did meet some nice people there and now have a few 'contacts' that I can call upon when I need it for certain programs that I'm not familiar with. And, there are a few people who have already looked to me for answers, advice and help with the programs that I know very well. That probably was the most beneficial aspect of the "training".

Air Traffice hired two new people. They're staffing their department like crazy. Over here, we have such a shortage that it isn't even funny. We really need more technicians but for some reason (unbeknownst to me) we can't hire anyone at this time. I was having a conversation with one of the new people and we ended up talking about time off. I am very fortunate in my position that I can pretty much take time off as much as I need to because there is only one of me and I don't need to ensure that there are enough people to cover a technical failure. However, the other disciplines have to do so before they can submit their requests. I also am fortunate that I don't have to take my leave on days that I already have off and when a holiday falls on my RDO (regular day off) I get the previous day off as well for a DL/O (day in-lieu of). She was amazed that I also only work a 4 day week. I followed that with "yeah, but it's 10 hours." She was shocked. But then I had to point out that while I have these benefits, it makes up for the money that she makes (and will make) that I won't. I explained that by the end of the year, or beginning of next she will easily be making a good $20k more than I make. I told her, "Actually, you already make more than I make." She shook her head, "No. That can't be possible." And she told me how much she earns. I confirmed, "Yep. You make $6k more than I make right now." She then sympathetically said, "Why don't they pay you guys more?" I told her, "I dunno."

So there are pros and cons with every job. While I'd like to have the pay increases that she has, I also have the availability to have time off at my disposal where she does not.

I definitely enjoy the benefits of my job if I don't always enjoy working with certain people.

*grin*

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey