today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-06-01 - 12:53 p.m.

Howdy, folks! How ya been?

So, I meant to post this early in the week but I got distracted. Sorry about that.

Last weekend, I was upstairs folding laundry on that I had previously scattered on the bed. As I was folding the clothes, I noticed out of the corner of my eye a small boy and a baby outside in the courtyard between my building and the one behind me.

The small boy, who looked to be about 3 was entertaining himself by throwing a Nerf-like ball up into the air and trying to catch it (unsuccessfully, I may add). I then noticed that the baby, who was sitting in a stroller facing my building (and away from the patio on the opposite building) was amused by his brother's attempt at a solo game of catch.

Then something stuck me like a boulder to the head. There wasn't a parent in sight. I watched for several minutes and witnessed the small boy go over to his baby brother and put him in a throat-choking headlock. While this took me by surprise, what he did next was even more appalling.

He took the toy he had been playing with, walked up to the baby, and whacked him hard right in the face! Naturally, the baby began to cry (oh, this baby was about 8 or 9 months old in my estimation) and it was at this time that the mom FINALLY came outside. The little boy acted as though he didn't know why the baby was crying. The mom checked the baby, saw that there wasn't anything obviously "wrong" with him and went back inside. At this point, the baby had stopped crying.

I watched in horror for several more minutes---20 in all--- where the 3yr old and the baby were completely unsupervised. I could not believe this. Then I saw the 3yr old pick up a small branch and wave it around. When that wasn't entertaining enough for him, he decided to wave it directly in his brother's face. My heart stopped for a split second.

I stood there, almost paralyzed because I just couldn't digest the fact that the mother of these children was no where to be seen. It wasn't as though she ran inside to grab the phone and came right back out or something of that nature. She left those children outside COMPLETELY unsupervised for over 20 minutes.

I couldn't take it any more. Just when I got the gumption to go downstairs and out the patio across the grass to her patio to say something to her, she finally appeared outside and gathered up the toys and herded the 3yr old inside as well as pushed the stroller into the house.

Now, call me whatever you want because I don't have children of my own, but I do NOT think that what that mother did was okay. I'm sure many of you moms out there have had to leave your child unsupervised for a couple of minutes here and there... I understand that. But a 3yr old and an infant alone in the backyard for over 20 minutes??? I think that was outright W R O N G!!! It hurt my heart that this mom was so careless with her children.

After all, don't you think that children are a precious gift that should not be taken for granted? It only takes a moment for the unthinkable to happen---whatever that may turn out to be.

I know that when I have a child, I definitely will not be perfect. I will make mistakes. But, I also know that I would NEVER leave a small child and/or an infant unattended much less doing so outdoors.

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey