today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2007-03-01 - 6:54 a.m.

Sigh.

As I stood in front of my bathroom mirror this morning getting ready for work, I had this whole idea for a diary entry. Alas, it has escaped me because I'm still reeling from reading someone else's blog. I'm trying to process and digest it all.

Anyway.

On a positive note, I get to see Dr. Sajoo today!! Woo-Hoo!! For those of you who might not know, Dr. Sajoo is my dentist. He's not cheap, but he's good. Plus, not only do I get gassed when he does extensive work, but I get to take Valium, too. Heh, heh.

That reminds me... last Saturday, Ben and I met up with our friend & co-worker, Jahil. He's an air traffic contoller who just moved here from San Juan. The three of us played cutthroat at a very nice pool hall called Gatsby's.

In fact, it's one of those places where you rent the table by the hour and a waitress comes around every so often and asks to take your drink/food order. Well, I wanted to taste a mojito. I keep hearing that they're made with lime (I adore anything that's limey) so it was bound to be right up my alley. I tell the waitress my order and she promptly tells me that they don't have that.

WTF???

How can they not have a drink? I mean, they have a full bar. So then I tell her that I'll have to get back to her. In the meantime, Ben orders a Sprite and Jahil has a black & tan. When she brings their drinks, I ask her for an Amaretto Stone Sour. She says, "Ok. So you want an Amaretto Sour, right?" I said, "Actually, it's a stone sour. There actually is a difference between an Amaretto Sour and an Amaretto Stone Sour. Unfortunately, I don't remember what it is that makes the difference." (I used to drink these back in my Navy days.)

She goes to the bar, comes back five minutes later and says, "The bartender doesn't know how to make that." So I ask for a drink menu.

She hands me a laminated binder and I proceed to scan the pages. She leaves to tend to her other customers. As I rifle through the pages, my eyebrows shoot straight to the sky! They were offering various martinis made with Findlania (sp?) vodka for $11 a pop! Then on another page were drinks for $9 and $10 each. I was flabbergasted to say the least. Don't get me wrong, it's not that I'm cheap but I don't drink that often and when I do, I don't wanna spend a George Washington on alcohol.... unless that covers at least 3 or 4 drinks!

So she comes back over and I ask her if there is something that the bartender can make that is citrus-y. She says, "I'll ask."

A few minutes later I have a tumbler with Absolut Citr�n and Sprite. It was a'ight, but nothing to write home about. She comes over to check on me (meanwhile, we're all shooting pool still) and asks me how my drink is. I'm honest and tell her that it's not bad but not quite what I'm looking for. I then said, "I guess I wouldn't make a very good alcoholic, would I?" She laughed.

A few minutes pass and while I'm waiting to take my shot in between Ben and Jahil (pronounced: jah-heel by the way), I casually flip through the drink menu again.

That's when I saw IT.

It was staring me right in the face. It may as well had bright, blinking and neon lights around IT.....

A RASPBERRY LAMBIC!!!!

I was so ecstatic that I raced over to the waitress station, book in hand and called her name. "Brittany!" I exclaimed excitedly.

She came over to me and I pointed to the page that listed my lovely libation. She says, "I was going to suggest that earlier but you said you don't drink beer or wine." I said, "Well, I don't really consider lambic to be a beer so that's why I didn't think about it." We both laughed. I handed her the menu and walked back to the guys. I was nearly giddy about the whole thing.

(Lambic is actually a malt beverage that comes in a wine bottle and it's made in Belgium.)

Finally, the night comes to an end and after my sucky lim�n drink and my one-and-three-quarters lambics, I'm not even tipsy! We settle the bill and I'm a little peeved that the Absolut drink was $6 whereas my Lambics were $7.50 but they were 12oz each! (I can actually buy these at Whole Foods Market for $5.99ea so I didn't feel that they were incredibly marked up for a bar.)

So I came to the conclusion that the reason they don't have many drinks at this place is that they're trying to push their $9, $10 & $11 drinks! Plus, I didn't want to spend that kind of money on a drink that might taste like crap! Been there. Done that. Got the tee-shirt!!

The good news is that when we went to pay for the pool, the hostess couldn't find our ticket anywhere and her manager was too busy to interrupt (so she said)and she let us go without having to pay! We were there three hours and I thought that the pool was $14/hr. Ben thought it was $20/hr. Either way, that's a hell of a Ben-And-Michele-Deal and made up for the drink order.

So, if you all have any ideas for what I can order the next time I go there please let me know. I love the Lambic but really, I can buy that anytime I want it. I want to be adventrous!

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!

ps--- I did finally get to try a mojito! Ben and I went to Columbia Restaurant and I fell in love!!! THIS is my new drink (just not at Gatsby's)!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey