today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2006-04-20 - 5:48 a.m.

My wonderful, beautiful friend, Alicia mentioned on her diary how a lot of songs in her iPod have nostalgia attached to them, and hence that's why she listens to them when she's alone.

Speaking of nostalgia, do any of you experience this: when I hear a certain song, it can take me back to a SPECIFIC time and/or place in my life?

For example, "Fascinated" by Company B just came on XM 83-Chrome. This song takes me back to my apartment in Pinewood Gardens (Norfolk, VA) and I can distinctly recall one afternoon/evening where my mom and I had cassette tapes spread from one end of my living room to another while I she helped me put together a "Mix Tape" for Ben. He was on a deployment and I wanted to make him something upbeat to listen to while he pumped iron in the ship's onboard gym.

Turns out that so many guys liked the tape that I made for him, they made copies!

I've always liked making compliations. I still have a lot of those "Mix Tapes" and now I have an extensive collection of "Mix CDs" in my repertoire. I'm not ashamed to admit this because these are not made in the essence of giving to a boyfriend/girlfriend. Most of my tape/CD compilations were made simply for me to pop in the player and jam to.

And coming back almost full circle, Alicia helped me make my first "all CD" compilations. She had a subscription to a music site (and a super cool CD burning computer) and so I'd send her a list of songs and poof! she'd put it together and mail it to me. It was a very thoughtful and kind thing for her to do this for me ---free of charge I might add!! Among the CDs she compiled in my behalf were four different disco CDs.

Yes, D-I-S-C-O! I am a Disco Diva! I love Disco. I've noticed that whenever disco plays on my XM or from a CD that I've compiled, my mood instantly improves and I start dancing--albeit in my chair usually--but grooving all the same!

In fact, it should be required for everyone to listen to 30mins of QUALITY disco music every day. Not sucky disco music, but the get-up-and-boogie-or-at-least-tap-your-foot-to-the-music disco!

Who knows? It may just make ya feel good. grrrrreat!!!

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!

ps- anyone want a CD full of jammin' disco tunes, email me and let me know!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey