today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-08-20 - 6:33 a.m.

If I haven't mentioned this before, my chiropractor is amazing. Absolutely amazing.

The funny thing is that when I mention that I go to a chiropractor, many people ask me if I have back problems. Well, no. An educated and compentent chiropractor does more than just "crack backs". In fact, mine can adjust almost all parts of the body to keep things aligned. When your body is properly aligned, you feel better. Less risk of injury and illness.

Actually when I first started to see him, I went because I has having these monsterous headaches--- ones that were on the brink of nearly being considered severe migraine. In fact, 3 years ago, I had to go to the ER from one of those migraines. It was awful. For me, I'm not one who prefers to use medicine, though I'm not against it at all either. I just feel that if I can heal my body naturally, that's better. If not, then I use medicine, etc.

My chiropractor mentioned to me on the 3rd visit, "You grind in your sleep, don't you?"

(Hey, sickos get your head outta the gutter. Sheesh!)

As a matter of a fact, I do. This was diagnosed by my dentist who sold me a $500 mouthguard. His hygenist explained that I'd need to by some Polident to clean it. WRONG-O!! The Polident ate away the silicone lining that cushioned my teeth. I wasn't about to pay another $500 for a new mouthguard. No way!

So when my chiropractor asked me that, I explained to him what I had experienced with the mouthguard (which incidently did not fully alleviate all my headaches). From that point forth, besides adjusting my neck, shoulders, back, hips/pelvis and legs he began to adjust my jaw.

(No comments from the Non-Peanut Gallery and you know who you are!!!)

Yes, I said it. He adjusted my jaw. Did you know your jaw can get outta whack? It can. And for the last 2 years he has been putting my jaw back into alignment and my headaches have nearly disappeared entirely. Of course, just like the average person I still get one from time to time but pop in a Tylenol and it goes away in a few minutes.

However, I have had a few doozies along the way. (Is that how you spell it?) It turns out that some people (ME!) are sensitive to the barometric pressure. I kid you not. When it decreases or is low, I begin to get pressure in my sinuses which leads to a sinus headache.

Around 2pm yesterday, I felt a headache coming on. It progressively worsened and by the time I got home, I felt as though someone had smacked me upside the head with a Louisville Slugger! I could barely talk to Ben on the phone because my head hurt so much. I didn't want to open my eyes either. I had no appetite-- I took 4 bites of my homemade pizza and had enough. Finally, I called my chiropractor. I described the symptoms I was having and where the pain was concentrated. He said, "Sound like this is weather related. The barometric pressure is pretty low out there. You have a sinus headache. I would recommend taking a decongestant. That should help you feel better. If not, come see me tomorrow morning."

As soon as I was off the phone, I raced upstairs and grabbed some sinus medicine. I kid you not, within TWENTY-MINUTES, I felt like myself. No pain. No pressure. I could talk easily to Ben. I had my eyes wide open. It was GREAT!

Let me also add here that my chiropractor actually started out in medical school when he went to college. So, he has a vast background in that field as well as chiropractics, obviously. He's able to "fix" me (and Ben) every single time.

Now, how's that for amazing??

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey