today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

-




2008-04-21 - 7:02 a.m.

So *ANOTHER* big thanks goes out to my favorite Seeeeeester. Back in February she bought me the coolest little cookbook. Knowing my passion for baking, she picked up a book all about cookies, bars and other sweet treats. Two weeks ago, I made my first recipe: Lemon Bars. Oh my word! Totally awesome. So good in fact that I had a hard time staying away from them.

*Side note: A brilliant idea just came to mind!! I should alter that recipe and make Lime Bars. OooOOoOOoo that would be refreshing, too!

Well yesterday, I decided to try my hand at homemade biscotti which is another recipe in this awesome little cookbook. Lemme tell ya, if anyone of you really like biscotti let me know and I'll be HAPPY to share the recipe with you.

This recipe called for pistachios and brandy or orange liqueur. I didn't have any brandy so it was off to the liquor store. My niece, who is staying with us right now, made a funny comment--- "You mean with all that alcohol that you guys have you don't have any brandy?" She giggled. (The bottom of our pantry is littered with various liquor bottles but to our defense we keep trying new alcohol recipes and each time we find we need to buy a new liquor. We really don't have an issue with drinking. I swear.)

The liquor store is across the street pretty much. So in we go. I look for brandy flavored Schnapps. I find cherry flavored brandy Schnapps, but not plain. Finally, I decide to that since I really only needed 2tsp of brandy for the recipe that perhaps I should just buy one of the mini airplane-sized bottles. I stood in line. It's my turn next. The cashier explains that the guy in front of me just bought her ENTIRE stock of mini brandy bottles. My shocked and puzzled expression prompted her to explain. "He comes in here and buys them to put in his pockets so he doesn't have to buy alcohol at the game."

I was flabbergasted by her comment. But anyway... So she offers a small bottle of E&J brandy for $4. I took it. She pointed out that the tiny bottles run about $2.50 - $3.00 so it's really better to buy the slightly larger bottle. Plus, I decided that if I wanted to make the biscotti again, then I'd have the brandy on hand.

I guess I should tell you how the biscotti turned out, huh? Well, it is DELICIOUS! Who knew that it'd be so easy to make. I thought it'd be hard or extremely time-consuming. Nope. Not the case at all. And I also realized as the biscotti was crisping in the oven that I could have used Amaretto in place of the brandy. In fact, next time I make it (which will be soon!) I plan to do just that.

So, thanks again Sis for one of the best surprise gifts you've given me thus far!!!

Anyone care for a homemade biscotti to dip/dunk into their morning cup of coffee?

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey