today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-07-22 - 6:59 a.m.

Latest drama... (for your momma?)

About 3 weeks ago I went to the gyn to have my annual icky girly exam. My entire focus was to get the exam over with and receive my prescription for my BCPs.

Due to my forgetfulness lack of planning, I was up the creek without a paddle. You see, I was out of pills and my 'script was expired. So I absolutely *HAD* to get an appointment right away.

I went straight to my health insurance's website, checked for a PPO provider, called the number and got an appointment for 10:15am on the 2nd of July. Ben and I had already scheduled annual leave {a vacation day basically} so going was not a problem. We had a little trouble finding the place so I was 5 minutes late. No biggie...

Well, as soon as I walked up to the clear, glass door my jaw dropped to the ground. Inside this tiny, tiny waiting area were about 30+ people all waiting to be seen. Excuse this next sentence because it's going to come across wrong and I apologize for it, however this place looked as though it was one of those "Free Clinics". Now, don't get me wrong. I'm all for having health care available to low-income families but when I am PAYING $200+ a month to just HAVE insurance, I prefer to be in a different environment.

Let me fast-foward.... it was T W O FREAKING HOURS before I was seen. The doc spent about 5 minutes with me, gave me 2 free samples and then she wrote out the prescription. I went to give the cashier/receptionist my $20 co-pay but she informed me that I don't owe a co-pay.

Huh?

Um... ever had one of THOSE feelings that you just know something is going to be f-ed up later on? Well, my prediction was right.

This weekend I got a bill from the labatory for $355.00!!! Apparently,despite my handwritten warning stating:

I DO NOT AUTHORIZE ANY ADDITIONAL TESTING

This place charged me for 4 tests that I did NOT authorize.

FOUR. TESTS. NOT AUTHORIZED.

{and to add insult to injury, 2 of the tests were for STDs... um, hello... been in a monogamous relationship for almost 14 years, people!!!}

So I called my insurance. Of course, their hands are tied and cannot help me. {said in quite a sarcastic, snotty tone of voice in my head} The rep, however did suggest that I go down to the facility face-to-face and ask to speak to the Office Manager.

Which I did. Yesterday. She was very polite and willing to help me. She also realized that the yahoos in the front did NOT send the lab my insurance information. Well NO wonder. At the same time, I told the office manager that there's a good chance that my insurance will NOT cover these tests as part of a routine exam and what was my next step?

She said she'd do some research and get back to me today. She indicated that most likely, they'd have to recode the labwork and then it might go through that way. Meanwhile, she submitted my insurance information to the lab and instructed them to submit the paperwork to my insurance.

Let's hope that all goes well and some way, some how *I* am not responsible to pay for something that I did not request!!!

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey