today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2007-02-23 - 6:40 a.m.

Why is it that I seem to always think of the most interesting topics for my diary page when I'm the furthest away from my computer?? Things to make you go hmm....

In other news, my AWESOME seeeeeester (have I ever mentioned her before? *wink*) bought and mailed me what looks to be the most AWESOME-EST cookbook EVER!! I will have to take some pictures of it and share it with you guys. Yeah. I should do that after I finish this entry and then go back and insert the photos here:

cookbook002

cookbook003

So, yeah...it's a GINORMOUS cookbook full of vegetarian recipes. It's so big and heavy that it actually scratched my glass kitchen table. (bummer) However, what I find interesting is that Karyl is so supportive of my eating habits/lifestyle and yet she'll tease me and say, "You really should start eating meat again! I have this nifty recipe......" She's so funny.

And if I weren't able to use any of the recipes in the book (totally unlikely) it could definitely be hurled at an intruder. Then again, it's really quite heavy for hurling. Maybe just for a good whacking.

Speaking of being supportive, back when Ben and I first embarked on this meatless, dairy-free journey I really expected her [Karyl] to give me a hard time about it. However, it just hasn't been the case. She actually is the MOST supportive of my lifestyle out of anyone in my family. While my dad won't come out and say it, I think he thinks I'm a freak for the way I choose to live my life nutrionally-speaking. I will have to give credit though to my step-mom; she seems to be okay with it. My mom... I'm not sure how she feels about it exactly.

And then I had one of my SILs once tell me that GOD says that we're supposed to eat meat in the Bible so I'm actually sinning against him because I'm not eating meat. Of course, I give no merit to her statement because this is the SIL who went from agnostistic to born-again in less than 6 months. And I *still* know loads more about the Bible than she does. Harumph!

I think what happens is that most people find out that I (we) are vegetarian automatically assume that either 1) we're going to be those awful PETA people or 2) that we're going to judge or condemn them for eating meat. These two reasons are part of why my sister is supportive--- we're totally not like that at all. I don't give a rat's behind if YOU want to eat meat, it's YOUR life. Of course, I wish that all the meat available in our supermarkets were free of hormones, antibiotics, given a healthy diet, etc. And for poultry that all of that which is raised here was done so humanely---letting the birds roam freely and not be stuck in cages.

Now, naturally I wish that animals weren't killed at all, but I'm not going to throw blood on anyone or red paint which represents blood. I think those people are cuckoo and have it all wrong.

And, I do wish that our country would get a handle on its alarming health issues especially morbid obesity. But at the end of the day if you want to savor a T-bone steak and a wash it down with a glass of milk, be my guest. Just don't criticize me for enjoying my beans and veggies as I guzzle a big glass of water instead.

(Thanks again, Sis for the AMAZING cookbook. I can't wait to really look through it and try some of the recipes!!! Love you!)

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey