today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-03-24 - 7:42 a.m.

How did *you* spend Easter Sunday?

We spent ours in quite an usual way. Ben, unfortunately, spent the entire day replacing the water pump on our car. I can't tell you how awesome it is to have such a handy guy. He saved us about $800 since he did it himself and we didn't have to pay for labor. (Well, technically, *I* pay for labor cuz I gotta keep him fed! *wink*) I think the part itself was $80-$90. So, not too shabby.

I, on the other hand, spent the day learning about exponents, etc. See, I'm retaking the college math placement exam. I tried to enroll for classes at the beginning of January but the computer kept blocking me out. I called the college and found out that they will not allow me to further my degree until I take a math course. However, in order to take a math requirement, I have to retake the placement exam since my original scores have expired. (Of course, no one mentioned to me that after 2yrs your scores expire!)

Anyway, even though I *hate* loathe math I have actually kind of been enjoying it. Our school uses (mostly) a program of CDs by a company called Thinkwell. It's basically a video professor who gives the lecture first, then you can print out notes and sample problems with solutions and then the homework. When you finish answering each question, it tells you if you've selected the right answer or not. It goes on to give the solution all worked out so in case you went astray somewhere, you can try to unravel the mysterious place you made the error.

And, it helps a lot that Professor Burger (swear to gawd that's his real name) is quite funny. For example, he was talking about multiplying exponents and said that you can multiply anything even ducks. He put two paper cutouts on the screen and said, "See? Duck, duck." Then, of course, he followed it with: "Goose!" He also uses food to illustrate the learning material in a "3D" way. One time he was using Junior Mints as a decimal point and he kept calling them "Sophomore Mints". I found this to be quite hilarious.

I hope that when it comes time for me to take the real class, that the professor uses the Thinkwell series of CDs. I definitely like the way they present the material and I actually am able to catch on relatively quickly. (For me.)

In other words, Ben and I went pseudo-shopping for a car. He really wanted to check out some fuel efficient cars. He was very intrigued by the Smart Car. As soon as we pulled into the parking lot, I couldn't help but break out into peels of laughter!

We went inside and much to my surprise, not a soul came over to us the entire time we were in the building. We sat down in the seats and noticed how much closer we were sitting to each other than in our Saturn. In fact, I think our elbows were practically touching. I couldn't stop giggling. I wish I can remember all the clever & witty things that I said during this experience. However, the best part of this? See the photo below:

Smart Car?

I just *LOVE* that the Smart Car lot is right next to a Maserati dealership!!! I said to Ben, "The Smart Car can fit into the trunk of a Maserati and they ain't big cars either!"

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey