today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2007-01-26 - 12:58 p.m.

Anyone missed me? Didn't think so.

*Ahem.*

So this Wednesday, Ben and I had to take off from work to drive to Orlando for a funeral. His stepmom's mom had passed and he really wanted to be there to support his stepmom.

The service was held in a quaint little church that I noticed was built probably in 1983 since it had a dedication stone at the front entrance with the year 1984 etched into it. It was probably large enough to hold about 100 or 150 people.

The first hour and a half was alloted for friends and family members to talk with one another, admire the frames of photographs, and so on. I was holding myself together pretty well despite all the tear-shedding that was going on around me. (I'm not sure if it's a woman thing or a Michele-thing, but whenever I see someone crying out of such pain, it instantly makes me tear up and want to cry also.)

I was doing well until...

Until I saw her.
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
Apparently the family thought it best to have an open casket service. Well, lemme tell you that freaked me right the hell out! Especially when you consider that I've actually had a few conversations with the woman on occasion. It's bad enough when I see that stuff on a movie or tv, but in real life?? And to have KNOWN the person (sort of)?!?!?

It's an image that is and will be forever burned into my retina. Then to make it worse, there were people in the family who were taking photographs of her laying there in the casket. Call me insensitive, but that's just darned right creepy to me. I mean, I love my family and all that but I don't want them to be in an open casket and I certainly wouldn't take photos of them after they've passed.

One person (who shall remain nameless) actually leaned in and KISSED her on the cheek! Ewww!!! The weirdest part about that is the person who kissed her on the cheek isn't related to her at all. [Karyl remind me to tell you who.]

Anyway, when Ben and I left and were headed back south, he and I decided to have a conversation about what we'd like to have done when either of us passes away. I know it can be a morbid subject but it's an important one. He and I are very adamant about NOT being buried in the ground. We really prefer to be cremated. And, if I can have my ashes sprinkled at the base of a beautiful Royal Palm palm tree, then I'll be happy about that. Or, my remains can be sprinkled over the ocean, too.

I don't want a funeral... I would like to have a memorial service. I want my friends and family members to come and celebrate the life that I lived. Talk about the good times. Tell stories about my best qualities and joke about my flaws. I want lively, upbeat music played (Karyl, you're in charge of putting on BPM channel 81 on XM!!) and not depressing funeral music! I don't want anyone to wear black to my memorial service unless they reallllly want to! I want people to eat good food, drink delicious drinks and have a party.

I mean, after all, death is really a part of life. And it's my LIFE that is worth celebrating.

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey