today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-01-26 - 8:00 a.m.

I never thought that paying property taxes would pay off. Usually, paying them makes me grumble as I'm sure it does for many other people.

Not only do we pay property taxes on our condo (obviously) but also on the crappy-assed-P.O.S. 5 acres that we own in a tiny, hick town in central Florida.

So, here we were last weekend using TurboTax online to file our taxes. We got to the bottom line and there was a big RED number at the top of the screen in the right-hand side of the webpage.

WTF????

Ben and I have NEVER, EVER, EVER OWED money to the IRS! We were pissed and confused at the same time. Granted, the amount we owed was only $400+ (better than thousands) but still. So Ben called TurboTax and after a short phone call with the representative, we discovered that we had only entered the property taxes that we paid on our 5 acres in central Florida. Hmmm...

Ben found the paperwork where we paid the property taxes on the condo and this morning, I logged back into TurboTax and filled the number into the appropriate box on the e-form. As soon as I hit "Continue", the number scrolled from the RED to the GREEN!!!! Yeah, baby! And the amount of the refund was decent.

We no longer receive thousands back for our return but we get enough back to make us happy.

You see, someone very wise advised us a year or so ago that when you deduct the MAX out of your paycheck and receive the big dollars in your refund, you're actually letting the gov't "use" your money all year long. So, you lose access to your own money. We were stunned to find that out. We said eff that! We want to use our own money throughout the year and only give the government what we have to legally. In the long run, we get more money through the year than we would get back in a return. (Seriously, do the math.. you'll see the difference it makes!)

In other news, the rest of today's entry is brought to you by the the letter P, subset 'a'.....

Another new product I am just over the moon about:

SoDelicious Soy Yogurt!

I know what you're thinking. Sounds disgusting, but truthfully this is the BEST soy yogurt I have ever eaten in my entire life! It even tastes like "real" yogurt. And, it even has 6 active & live cultures to boot! SCORE! See, I've tried other brands that were just absolutely gross. I really liked dairy yogurt back in the day when I ate dairy products and missed it. So when I saw that my favorite non-dairy company who makes my yummy ice-cream came out with a yogurt, I just knew that I had to try it.

When I was at Whole Foods Market yesterday, I timidly put 2 peach and 2 cinnamon bun flavored yogurt containers into my cart. Well, this morning Ben grabbed the peach and handed it to me. WOWEE! It is so yummy! And then he opened the cinnamon bun one for himself (my brother-in-law, Kurt would NOT eat this for sure! *giggle*) and we were stunned at how delicious it was!

Not only that, but the calorie count comes in at 160 for 6oz and it has only 3g of fat (no sat. fat) and it even has 3g of fiber and 6g of protein! Kick ass!!

So there you have it... today is definitely going to be a FANTASTIC day for me! Wheeeeee!!!

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey