today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2006-06-27 - 6:18 a.m.

I swear, I'm gonna run away to a deserted island and start my own country! Yeah. That's the ticket. How 'bout "Michele-any"? Or, "Michele States"? Maybe "Michele-land"??

I am just OUTRAGED at the decline of intelligent people in our country. And I don't mean brainiacs. I'm talking about people who make the unfortunate mistake of having children only to ruin them!

I watched Oprah yesterday. It highlighted families who were almost in crisis becauses the parents had either checked out or were guilt-parenting. By this I mean that they were giving in to every demand their child(ren) had! It was obnoxious.

In one segment, the mom is unbelievably negotiating floor space to practice her yoga with her 16yr old son!!! Um, hello?!? There is no negotiations to be had. You first try politely to ask him to move out of the space and if he doesn't comply then you remove a privledge or administer some other relatable discipline. One of the younger boys told her in the tape piece, "You're just yappin', Mom. I'm tired of hearing it."

O MY FREAKING GAWD! If I had even thought about talking to my mom like that, I'd have had my top lip stuck in between my two front teeth, causing it to bleed! Oh. Wait. That did happen once.

Anyway... then there was this mom who incredously thought NOTHING of taking her child to get a manicure and pedicure every two weeks, buying her $5000 worth of Barbie dolls, giving her a cell phone and purchasing a COACH bag (despite not owning one herself)!!!!

THE CHILD WAS FOUR FREAKIN' YEARS OLD!!!!

And at the end of the show, this mom still didn't have her Clue Card. My Gawd! Why do parents these days think that they have to be their kids' friend? Why are they so worried about their child's love and approval?

My motto? "If my future child 'hates' me, then I'm doin' somethin' right!" Ok, maybe not to an extreme, but you get the idea.

If you're a parent out there and you're reading this {excluding you, Sis} PLEASE do not spoil your child. Please do not parent out of guilt. Do not overindulge him/her/them. Despite what you think, children actually NEED guidelines, rules, boundaries, and disciplines. That's not to say that you can't buy them a special toy/gift on their birthday or Christmas {or whatever holiday you celebrate in December} or for an incredible report card, etc. But don't do it every single day.

The best gift you can give your child is to love yourself first and then your child--- in other words, lead by example by being strong, intelligent, and balanced. After all, as Dr. Phil says, "You're not raising children... you're raising adults."

And that's all I gotta say 'bout that!

Until next time...peace, love, & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey