today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2007-03-27 - 11:25 a.m.

How great is it when your boss hands you a magazine, suggests that you read through it and it�s a copy of Taste of Home?? I have a great boss! If it weren�t for him, I might not have accepted the job. He has such a good personality and a funny sense of humor. He�s usually smiling and cracking jokes---rarely in a bad mood.

He�s quite the contrast from some other bosses I�ve seen (and dealt with before). Some bosses take themselves too seriously and get frustrated with their employees far too quickly. Not my boss!

I�m a lucky girl for sure!

In other work-related news, I have to tell you about a phone call I received yesterday afternoon. First the background info you need to know to appreciate the story�..

Whenever a piece of equipment fails or isn�t working properly, it gets reported to a group of people in Atlanta. Then, that group often calls us back to verify if the equipment is 1)fixed/repaired; 2)still out of service; 3)temporarily down for maintenance, etc. When they call, sometimes the person on the other end forgets that *I* am not a technician and thus, am not familiar with all the jargon, etc. Besides, it�s often better for them to simply ask me who they want to speak to than tell me why.

Also, because equipment outages are taken seriously around here (they can cause delays in air traffic) the conversations are always recorded and the person in Atlanta has to give his/her initials to me and I usually have to give them in return.

Here is the call�. (not totally verbatim):

AOCC: (Atlanta guy) Hello, this is the so-and-so from AOCC and I need to speak to either the coordinator or the supervisor.

Me: I�m sorry, sir but the supervisor isn�t available right now.

AOCC: Well, I have to coordinate a [unintelligible] with FTI for the [unknown acronym]�. {he goes on for a minute or two and I have no clue what he�s talking about.]

Me: Sir, if you�d like, I can take your name and number and have him call you back in a few minutes. Or, you can hold on the line. (Said with � cup of sugar in my voice)

AOCC: Doesn�t anyone work around there?!? (He said with an attitude.)

Me: Sir, he�s in a meeting right now but will be available shortly. I�ll be happy to take your name�. (my voice trails off as he interrupts me)

AOCC: (rudely and abruptly snapping at me) 866�� {only he said it so fast I couldn�t catch it}
Me: Sir, can you please repeat that? I didn�t quite�..

AOCC:866-432-��

Me: Sir, I can�t understand you to write the number down. Would you mind repeating it for me again, please?

AOCC: 866-4�.3�2�digit..digit..digit..digit. My intials are CL.

Me: Thank you sir. I�ll be sure to give my supervisor your message as soon as he�s available.

What the guy didn�t realize is that John was in Bob�s office and they were discussing something that I knew wasn�t going to take very long. In fact, almost as soon as I hung up the phone, John walked out of Bob�s office. I handed him the phone message and told him what had just happened.

John said to me with a smile, �Well, after hearing what he said to you *I* don�t want to talk to him now either!�

Of course, this isn�t the first time that someone has been rude to me on the phone and I know it won�t be the last. What I don�t understand is how someone can be so hostile towards me when I�m really trying to help him/her ~and~ I�m really polite and sweet to whomever I�m speaking to on the phone! I just don�t get it.

My co-worker (and Ben�s boyfriend�.{inside joke}), Kraig said to me after I told him what happened, �You don�t have to take that. You should next time ask to speak to his supervisor.�

He�s right I suppose. I guess I�m still stuck in Navy mode where as the lowest on the totem pole, you typically have to put up with ALL the b.s.

Another day, another dollar�.and thankfully my boss never talks to me like that!!!

Until next time�peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey