today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2007-11-27 - 12:10 p.m.

DISCLAIMER: Please do not make fun of me or judge me for this entry. I almost didn't post it because I was worried what my threesix loyal readers would think.

Ok. So here goes....

As some of you may (or may not) know, I've been enrolled in community college since the fall of 2004. I was receiving VA benefits until October of last year. At that time, we were just a month from closing on our condo and moving in as well as trying to sell our RV. As a result, I opted not to take any classes that semester.

Well, one semester led to two and then elapsed into three. Needless to say, it's been one year since I took any classes. I found out that I only need 7 classes or 20 credit hours to complete my A.A. With that said, I thought that it's time to take another class.

I wanted to take a class that would be sort of "easy" for me to gradually get back into the swing of going to school. I was considering a science course. So, yesterday I went on FCCJ's website and took a gander at the biology and the earth/space science classes. After hemming and hawing, I decided I wanted to take the biology (BSC1005)class. I even looked at which professors were teaching that particular class and decided to also look at some of the faculty websites. After choosing the professor and class that I wanted to take, I clicked on the "Add" button to add that class to my enrollment for Spring 2008 semester. It took me to another screen that said something about not being enrolled because of a math course requirement not being satisfied.

WTF? It's not what you're thinking. I don't need the math to take the biology. However...this is where I get very upset and emotional... apparently after being trasferred to FIVE different people at the college, I *finally* was told that my college placement math scores are no longer valid. And, since I haven't taken any math yet, I have to take MAT1033. For anyone who knows anything about Florida colleges, that's a pre-requisite class. It's for dummies like me, basically--- an idiot at math who doesn't know her polynomials from her polygons.

I also found out that not only do I have to take this Math for Idiots class, but IT DOESN'T EVEN COUNT TOWARDS THE MATH REQUIREMENTS FOR MY DEGREE!! I still have to take 2 more math courses. In the beginning of my college career (as it were) I was eligible to take MAC1105 (College Algebra) ---long story how this worked out--- and it was the only math requirement at that time.

Then it gets worse. I had finally calmed down when the guy tells me that I can't just enroll for MAT1033 (Math for Dummies) until I take the math portion of the college placement test all over again.

WTF???

I mean, it's not like my math scores have IMPROVED in the last 3 years. I know I'm an idiot at math---duh! Just let me take the remedial course and move on! Don't make me sit in front of the computer again staring at it like it was an alien and having NO clue how to solve the problems in front of me.

At this point, tears were just streaming down my face. (I have serious trauma with math.. I am not kidding.) So now I have to set up this test, PAY for it, and basically just have to guess each multiple choice answer that I'm presented with. And then they'll just tell me that I'll have to take the Math For Dummies class. I'd rather skip the middleman, thank-you-very-much! (well, that is unless I really muck it up and my scores place me into BASIC algebra!)

I was so upset yesterday that I was considering just quitting all together and giving up. I mean, what the f--- do I really need a degree for anyway? Right?

But then there was this little nagging voice telling me that people will think I'm a loser & slacker if I get this close to getting my degree and not finishing it--- especially when Ben is almost done with his! Yeah, I know it's not a competition between us, but I sure feel that way sometimes! I feel like I have to be as good as he is or at least accomplish the same things (to a degree). Besides, my Sister has her degree already and my brother (both of them are younger) is currently enrolled in college.

So yesterday was NOT a good day for me to say the least. Add to it that in the morning, I encountered the same problem with CRU-X as two weeks ago. So, I wasn't able to process T&As until lunchtime. The only good thing about it was that I have until 2pm on Tuesdays to get them done and transmitted and obviously, yesterday wasn't a holiday so there wasn't as big of a time crunch.

Anyone want to lend me their brain for the test?!?! I promise to give it back!!

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey