today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-04-29 - 6:48 a.m.

***UPDATE*** --- still frustrated and a little angry/upset about a few things but I'm working it out.

Anywho.. so I kind of forgot what I was going to write. I got interrupted by a trip to the little girls' room. Then I decided to make the coffee for Air Traffic. I brought some of my new favorite coffee from home.

illy. That's the brand. It's from Italy and it is amazing. Don't get me wrong, Dunkin' Donuts is very good coffee for what it is, but this illy brand is smooth. It's a bit stronger (which I don't usually like) but not a lot. However, it's not bitter like a lot of stronger coffees. (Read: Starfucks)

In fact, this weekend I went to a store that I foresee becoming my new 'mecca'.... Sur la Table. Yeah, baby. I even signed up for their catalog! This store is sort of in line with Williams-Sonoma, but not as fru-fru. And its focus is more on the gadgets and accessories for cooking/baking rather than the appliances. If anyone is interested, check out the site.

If I had a couple Gs to blow, I'd have gone home with so many cool toys! *grin*

While I was there, this very nice clerk demonstrated the espresso machines. I was very leery about trying some espresso because most of my experiences were at Starfucks and we all know how they overroast their beans therefore producing a burnt, bitter taste to their espresso. (the only time I had a really good experience with espresso---in the form of a delicious latt�---was in Washington with my sister. [And damn me for forgetting the name of the place!]

So, he talks me into it. I put two small sugars in the cup. (I didn't put creamer in it because all they had to offer was skim milk.) Did I mention that the sugar was in the shape of snowflakes and pine trees?? [leftover from Christmas] Totally cute! I take a sip. It went down so smoothly. It was almost like hot velvet sliding down my throat. I was amazed! I couldn't believe it. I took a second sip. And a third. Before I knew it, the espresso was ensconced within the confines of my tummy! heh heh. It was so delicious that I almost had a second cup!

I asked the clerk which brand of espresso did he use to make my cup. He showed me the can of illy. It didn't take even a nanosecond for me to decide that I wanted to buy a can to take home. I couldn't wait to try it in my machine as coffee since I don't own an espresso machine. (yet!) It was heavenly. I am sooooo hooked now. The coolest part is that the grounds (you can buy it in whole bean, too) come in a recyclable STEEL can with a pop-top type lid. You have to open it a small bit first to let out the gas and then you pull the tab all the way back.

And the good news is that this coffee/espresso isn't really absurdly priced. A pound of DD coffee typically runs about $10. This illy coffee is only a few dollars more. And fortunately, I can easily buy it at Whole Foods Market. (I had seen it before but didn't know what it was all about.)

Holy crap! I wrote an entire entry about coffee & espresso. Wow! Must be the caffiene coursing through my veins. *wink*

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey