today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-09-03 - 6:46 a.m.

...and the saga continues!

Ok, it's not THAT dramatic. However, it has a happy ending. Everyone loves a happy ending, right? I thought so.

Over the weekend we drove to Gainesville so that Ben could help his dad replace his roof that was rotting away. In fact, it was so dry-rotted (which doesn't make sense since it was excess rain that caused so much damage) that his dad, uncle and even Ben fell through it a few times. When Ben's foot went through, it did so right into the bathroom where it left a nice sized hole. Way to go, Ben! hee hee... And his dad had to be a smart-ass and put his name (Ben's) in PERMANENT magic marker on the ceiling where Ben made the original hole. It took 2 days for them to replace the entire roof. (It was on a double-wide trailer.) Even Ben's cousin, Crystal helped.

Anyway, while in Gainesville (well, a small town nearby) my eyes started to get very, very dry. I was blinking a lot to try to moisturize them a bit. It's very dusty and there is not a lot of grass so the dirt is easily stirred up into the air. As a result, my eyes dried out pretty easily. By the end of the night, they were quite miserable. I finally gave in and decided to take them out. I got the right one out without too much difficulty but the left one seemed to be STUCK to my eyeball. Without thinking, I tugged a little harder. (I know now that I should have just added some rewetting drops. Duh!) When I finally got it out, I realized that I had torn it almost completely in half! I was pissed becaused that contact was a brand-new one fresh out of the package that morning. Ugh. What was I going to do? I had my glasses with me, but since we were driving home that day, I didn't have my prescription sunglasses with me. (Another hard but valuable lesson learned!)

I decided to see if I could get an emercency contact lense. Keep in mind that I'm doing this on SUNDAY. First, I try Target. My sister-in-law said when we got there to go over by the pharmacy. I thought she was referring to the location of the optical center. Nope! They didn't have one because it was a regular Target. Then I tried CVS (or was it Walgreen's?). Again, no luck. The nice lady pharmacist gave me directions to a Super Walmart in town.

I was so proud of myself! She drew me a map and I didn't get lost. I got there and sure enough, they had an optical center. Whew. What a relief. Only problem is that it wasn't going to open until noon and that was in 2 more hours. I still had to drive 45min back to get our stuff at my sister-in-law's house and then 25min to get Ben. I couldn't wait around.

After picking up my sis-in-law (she had to get some stuff) we drove to the OTHER Walmart. THe optical center was open. YAY! I went in and told the optometrist lady my sad plight. *grin* I asked if there was any way possible that I could just purchase one lense or at least a pair since I had just bought a brand new BOX the day before and didn't really want to spend another $35. (I will be ordering mine online from now on!)

She handed me a pair of lenses and waved me on. She told me they were on the house. I couldn't thank her enough. She was even kind enough to allow me to use one of their exam rooms to put them in because she didn't want me to go into the nasty bathroom. (Her words, not mine.)

See? Karma is out there. Do good things for others and good things will come back to you. I'm so happy that she was kind enough not to give me just the one contact, but both. She was definitely my hero that day!

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey