today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-11-04 - 6:57 a.m.

I've said it before and I'll say it again: I'm tired of people judging me!

Again yesterday, I had a few people ask me if I voted. I said no. I tried to leave it at that but they asked if I was going to vote on Tuesday [today]. I simply replied, "No. I don't vote."

I try not to make a big deal about it. I try to be nonchalant about the fact that I don't vote. However, people hear this and think this gives them the right to give me the third degree as well as a lecture as to why I should vote. It bugs me because I don't go around and judge people for living their life differently than mine. I don't tell people that they SHOULD give up meat and dairy products and do all the other things that enhance my life.

While I understand that on some level the choice to live or not to live that lifestyle (or parts thereof) is not exactly the same as choosing not to vote, but the principle behind the lecturing from one person to the other is the same. Regardless of my positions or thoughts on any one subject matter, it's one thing to DISCUSS a topic in an adult conversation and it's another to LECTURE someone and try to tell them they're wrong for the way they think, etc.

The point of this blog isn't geared to whether or not I vote or whether or not I should, it's about the way someone responds to me when they ask me a question.

(And for the record, I'm happy to listen to someone ELSE's position/feelings about voting, etc. I just don't want to be treated like a child during the conversation.)

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey