today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-08-05 - 7:12 a.m.

I don't care what ya'll think.. I am a big ole idiot.

Not in a general sense, thank God. However, there is just one thing that I can't seem to make heads or tails of at times. My brain functions like every other normal human being when it comes to every day life and in some cases, it's even a teeny bit advanced in others. I'm a highly organized person and I learn quickly--- usually by figuring out on my own how something works.

For example, 10+ years ago I had never even turned ON a computer. Now, I can zoom around and do so many things that I never imagined possible just by trial and error. Some of the programs at work also were also trial & error; I wasn't given any training for most of my job. In fact on the first day, I was scared to death of answering the phone! Now, I can answer a call then park it, answer line 2, make a page for call #1, pick up line 2 again and even park line 2 if line 3 rings. (This has only happened twice so far since I've been here.)

So anyway, you get the picture.

Now you may ask why I think I'm an idiot. Besides the results of my CPT on Friday (I'll get into that later) I was at Einstein Bagels this morning picking up bagels (as instructed by my boss for this morning's meeting) and I ordered the "Bucket" and a half dozen. I then said to the guy across the glass, "That means I get 21 bagels, right?" He looked at me and quietly said, "Um, no....you get 19."

Yeah. So 13 [baker's dozen] and 6 = 21. How freakin' dumb do you have to be to get that wrong??

Then, I took the CPT on Friday in hopes of being placed into College Algebra so I can enroll for fall semester. Back in the beginning of the year, Ben bought me the CDroms that he uses for all of his math classes. It starts at Beginning Algebra and teaches all the way up to Calculus 2. So, for 4 months I studied every single Sunday. I even studied on some Saturdays. I watched the video lessons, I did the examples, took the practice tests, etc.

What was my score on Friday? Well, it was so bad that I only placed into INTERMEDIATE algebra. Yeah. Like 7th grade level. Told you I am an idiot. (at this) The worst part of this??? One of the guys in charge of the program dealing with testing for distant learners looked up my scores from when I first started college.... same thing; I placed into Intermediate Algebra. However, at that time I GUESSED on that ENTIRE test. So now I feel even more stupid. I studied all that time and got the same results as when I guessed and had no clue.

I just can't figure out why my brain just DOES. NOT. GET. MATH.

It's like God forgot to wire up that small part of my brain. The rest, he did just fine. I'm pretty smart in all other aspects of my life, just not this one.

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!

ps- taking Intermediate Algebra is considered a remedial class and therefore does NOT count towards my degree yet, I still have to pay for it and score high enough to go to College Algebra which is a requirement for my degree. I'm beginning to wonder if it's worth it.









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey