today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2007-12-05 - 8:52 a.m.

Here we go with a another T&A fiasco... okay, it's really not a fiasco per se, but I'm a little bummed.

So last pay period (they're comprised of 2 weeks)we had TWO holidays. This is unsual because typically only one holiday will fall within a pay period. When we have a holiday, we're supposed to go into the second "page" of our electronic time cards and enter on the shift manager portion x number of holiday leave hours. For example, if someone works an 8hr shift, they'd take 8hrs of holiday leave (which is not charged against us in our regular leave hours). Or, like me, I take 10hrs of holiday leave because I work a 10hr shift.

Now, some of our radar techs are actually scheduled to work on the holidays so they do nothing. They do not enter in holiday leave and thus, they are paid for it. This means that they make Holiday Pay which is double time. (Regular overtime is time and a half)

Ok.. so fast forward to yesterday. It was payday and I went onto Employee Express to see how much leave I have accrued as well as my earnings. Basically, Employee Express is a website for us to access our Leave & Earnings Statement electronically.

Much to my surprise, I had a little more money than usual. I was stumped. My check is always the same--- well every couple of checks I earn a penny or two more; don't ask me why. So then I look down the page and discover that it says:

Holiday Worked: 10 Hours

OH CRAP!!!

I forgot to enter in one of the holidays in the shift manager for holiday leave. I remembered to enter 10hrs of leave for Veteran's Day but forgot to put it in for Thanksgiving. Duh! And the ironic thing is that I remembered to check everyone else's T&A before I transmitted them last week. Sheesh!

I then was in a bit of a tizzy because thus far in the one year that I've been here, I have *NEVER* had to do an amendment. This is a pretty big deal because the upper level management "grades" each airport with many things--- one of these is LDR/T&A Compliance. If you have to make amendments, that lowers your complaince percentage. In other words, bad ju-ju. Plus, I was so proud of myself because I had never had to do one. Considering that I've never been formally trained on how to operate the software (I taught myself by trial and error) I thought that was even more awesome that I had not ever done an amendment.

And, since I have never done one, I thought it was going to be a major pain in the arse. As it turned out, it was very, very easy. It was basically the same process I use to actually fill out and submit my T&A and then I just had to retransmit it to another program called CASTLE.

The only *real* bummer is that since I've already been paid the extra money, they're going to snatch it away next paycheck. Fortunately, it's not really a grand sum of money so it won't be a big deal on our budget.

Anyone else agree that I get a mulligan?? {grin}

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey