today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-02-06 - 6:34 a.m.

Miscellaneous crap...

Seems like baby talk is all around me. I better not drink the water!!

Yeah. Ben's cousin, Chas had her baby yesterday (it was a boy). Another of his cousins, Jenny is due any day (she's having a girl). And his "favorite" cousin, Jason and his wife, Melissa are having a boy soon, too.

Now, add to this equation that my long-time friend, Melissa that I've known since 7th grade had her baby (a girl) last August. Factor in that my friend, Sheray is having a girl in May. Now my sister is pregnant. (this is the only one that i'm super excited about cuz she's my sister)

But on the other hand, I'm angry. Don't ask me why. Not that these people are having babies. But I guess because that makes me that much further removed from having something major in common with these people. (minus my sister just cuz she's my sister)

A lot of women (not my sister thank God) become mommies and that's all they fucking talk about it. My baby this, my baby that... ugh, I get so damned sick of it. I mean, there ARE other facets in your life than just having children.

And why is that when a woman says to someone that she has offspring she almost ALWAYS includes the adjective "beautiful"... as in, "I have ___ (fill in number) beautiful children." I mean, DUH!!! Of course you think your children are beautiful. You don't need to proclaim that to the world.

Then there are women who have children that are older and when they have a friend/co-worker who recently had a baby they want pictures.

C'mon...gimme a break. ALL NEWBORNS LOOK EXACTLY ALIKE! They're squished up, wrinkly, usually without hair and don't do anything except sleep, pee and poop. Maybe the occasional yawn and, of course, the crying. (I know that there are different skin tones and so forth, but generally babies all look alike.)

To me, babies aren't even cute until like between months 4 and 6. (not counting Gracie.. heh heh.. sorry, she's my niece hafta be partial because she's family)

But honestly, when they're that old, they can interact with you. They can smile, and look at you, and grab things (especially if you wear glasses like I do).

Now, don't get me wrong... I'm not just feeling ticked off about this, but other things, too. I'm probably being childish about this, and I don't want to negate all the sweet and endearing comments I received yesterday about Ben's accomplishment but then I feel like I'm just left in the cold.

I say this because typically when something good happens in my life, no one seems to care about it. It's like whoop-dee-do. It makes me just not want to give a shit about anything. Why bother anymore? No one cares if I do a good job or if I don't.

Then there's the lack of respect I get at work. Guys just cussing at me, hanging up the phone on me, refusing to give me their paperwork, etc. (I'm just trying to do my job, people!)

Add to this, my baking. Sure, I get a lot of pleasure out of cooking-- like an artist gets pleasure out of his/her paintings or sculptures-- but it sure would be nice if once in a great while someone would just OFFER to do something nice in return. I get the fact that I shouldn't do things to expect payback, and I don't, but just knowing that someone reallllly cares about me and what I do sure would brighten my day.

I could go on and on about all the shit that's bothering me lately, but I don't want to scare away the very few readers that I happen to have. I don't like posting angry emotions (I like people to regard me as being sunny, upbeat and positive) but damnit, there are times I just need to fuckin' vent!!

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey