today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2006-03-06 - 9:28 a.m.

Howdy, howdy!

How was your weekend? Mine was crazy! Ben had to work overtime on Friday and after a long, exhausting day---physically laboring--- he had to take me to the E.R. As it turned out, I had an almost deblitating migraine. Sights, smells, and sounds exaggerated the incredible pain in my head. And of course, what's a migraine without the accompanying nausea?

When I was finally admitted, the nurse tries to put the I.V. in my arm and, due to the extreme smallness of my veins, has a difficult time. It hurt so bad I wanted to curse! I did cry out. Well, she couldn't handle it I suppose and in an angry huff said, "Oh, forget it. I'll get someone else to do this!" And stormed out of the room. Then a male nurse comes in. His bedside manner was much, much better but because the previous nurse was unable to get the needle into my arm (where my elbow bends but on the inside of the arm), he had to insert it into the top of my left hand. Not fun.

Once the meds kicked in--- I have no idea what they gave me because no one was telling me anything--- I had to go for a CT scan. Oh, and before I had the I.V. shoved into my arm, I had asked Nurse Ursula if Ben could finally join me. She vehemently said no. I was crushed. Usually, Ben is right there beside me when I have any medical procedure (save my annual female exam).

And, like always, when I get any meds put into me intravenously, it makes me shiver. My teeth were chattering, my legs were quivering and of course, those hospital gowns aren't much in the way of warmth. By this time, I was starting to feel a lot better---not 100%, but definitely much improved.

I asked the CT tech who had about as much personality as a paper weight, how much longer did I have to have the I.V. stuck in me. He said, "Probably for another hour at least. We have to wait for the meds to kick in." I'm thinking two things at this point. First, the meds had definitely already kicked in (I mean, after all, I'm not a very large person despite being technically "overweight") and second, there was no way I wanted to sit there for another minute without having Ben by my side.

And, I was pissed off that no one was telling me anything and I was being treated like just a warm body.

So, the CT tech wheels the gurnee back into the exam room and says he'll alert the doctor for me. The doctor walks in the room. (I realized later that he didn't have a lab coat on, nor a stethescope, and he was dressed semi-casually. Hmm...) By this time, I had managed to get my clothes back on. (I came in with comfy clothes; orange, draw-string nylon pants and a cotton Gators tee-shirt.) Doc walks in and I shove my left hand out towards him saying, "Can you please take this out of me? I'm done. I've had enough. I want to go home."

He said, "You'll have to sign a release form." I replied, "Fine. I don't mean to be rude, I really don't, but I'm tired of being here and I'm not used to my husband not being allowed to be with me through the whole thing." He replied calmly, "I'll get the nurse."

So, Ursala walks back in the room and takes the I.V. out of my hand and bandages me up. (Over the weekend, I had a huge bruise on my left arm as well as the top of my left hand.) She gives me the form which basically stated that I was leaving the hospital agains the doctor's recommendation.

I waltz into the waiting area and poor Ben is passed out. I wake him up and his eyes are bloodshot as though he'd been out partying all night long with very little sleep. Poor guy! So it was quite comical to see us get home----he had also injured his left wrist at work by splicing 100-pair cable all day and night----his exhaustion and gimp wrist and me still on meds trying to keep him awake to drive. Because of his injury, he was having quite a lot of trouble shifting so he'd put in the clutch and I'd shift while he used his right hand to steer. Thankfully, the hospital was only about 3 to 5 miles from the RV.

I honestly think that I studied way to hard on Friday which caused the sudden oncoming migraine. I have never been in that much pain in my entire life.

And people wonder why I'm scared to death to have a baby!!!! Sheesh!

Until next time... peace, love, & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey