today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-08-07 - 7:29 a.m.

I'm not sure if I've ever mentioned the saga that became my life in April 2008.

Maybe I have. I dunno. I guess I'm losing it! heh heh..

So, The Reader's Digest Version (sort of):

One of my nieces (who will remain nameless for privacy issues but I will refer to as 13---Blue Opal, if you email me I'll explain why. I didn't steal your 12 and add 1, I promise!) came to stay with us back in April. The premis was that she was going to have a trial run with us to see if she could handle being more responsible and eventually to set her on the path for college.

We had hoped that this experience would lead her down that road and had anticipated that she wouldn't be going home after the 30 days were up. We fully planned for (mentally) that she would finish her high school requirements (she's home schooled) and transistion into the local community college in the fall.

That "dream" was shattered and slivered into a million tiny pieces like mirrored glass dropped on a tile floor.

She did not do her schoolwork. She did spend most of the time on the internet chatting with 2 boys, one of whom she was not permitted to have any contact with (I found this out later); she did not pick up after herself; she racked up 5000 night & weekend minutes in less than 4 weeks on our spare phone(she would get on the phone after we went to bed and talk until all hours of the night as late as 3 and 4am but starting a phone call at 9 or 10pm!!!); she never said thank you for all the meals we cooked; the dinners we ate out; the clothes we bought her; etc. I can go on and on but you get the picture.

Not to mention The Tangerine Incident. This is where we got a call one afternoon that she had cut herself severely with a knife while trying to slice a tangerine in half. Supposedly she slipped, fell and hit her head and-- according to her-- blacked out. That was an expensive ER trip for her parents. To this day, Ben and I believe that she was trying to get attention by cutting herself. Apparently afterwards (before we got home) she took a picture of the deep knife wound on her inside forearm and posted it for one of the boys to see with the words: "See what you made me do?!?"

Nice.

Needless to say when her father found out, he was P I S S E D. He wanted her to come home immediately but it wasn't feasible for another 2 and a half weeks. When she did get home, check this out:

Her mom:
--bought her a dog
--did not reprimand her for not finishing her schoolwork much less completing only 3 assignments in 5 weeks
--did not punish her for communicating with the forbidden boy nor for having a forbidden MySpace acct (another thing we found out later)


But the icing on the cake???? Oh, and this is rich....

We received in the mail just last week a card with a gorgeous photo of her and a pink, printed card with her graduation date on it. Enclosed was a typed piece of paper. Her mom had written on it:

"Due to circumstances beyond our control, commencement ceremonies were canceled. However, we wanted to celebrate [13's] graduation at [Amusement Park]. If you would like to send cards or donations, please send them to this address..... Also, we would like you to include on the paper below some words of advice for the graduate. We will collect them and put them into this cute jar that we made for her."

Uhh... unless I'm an idiot, commencement ceremonies are NEVER canceled. Not only that, but the girl didn't FINISH HER REQUIREMENTS and therefore she is not receiving a diploma. *THAT* is the real reason why "the commencement ceremony was canceled". Have I mentioned that this will be child #2 who will have to get her GED??? Yeah.

I won't even get into the rest of the drama with how her mom suddenly thinks that 18 is some magical number where her child(ren) can do pretty much what they want because "they're an adult". BULLSH*T!!! On December 7th, I'm a child but on December 8th, I'm an adult?!? {just using my birthday as an example}

Anywho... I am saddened for my niece for her mother is doing a grave injustice by teaching her that not only does she not have to complete anything that is worthy or important for your life to move forward, but apparently you get rewarded all the same. In addition, there are no reprecussions for misbehavior, etc.

The Real World is gonna chew her up and spit her right the f*ck out!!!

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey