today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-11-07 - 6:53 a.m.

Pending my sister's permission to link to her page, in the meantime I'm going to write my own entry......

Why is it that often times a near catastrophe brings people together? For example, when Hurricane Katrina hit, a lot of people banded together to help one another. When the twin towers were blown up, for weeks people seemed to be kinder, gentler and more supportive.

I wonder why it takes tragedy to---on some level---bring out the best in us? Why is it human nature to not behave in this manner for the majority of our lives? Why is it that we take our family and friends for granted until something drastic strikes?

I don't want to live like that. I want to feel joy and love towards my friends and family as often as I can. I want to have the ability to truly forgive them for their shortcomings and excuse their flaws. I want to look at them in the best possible light despite all else.

Why is this so difficult until there is a possiblity that they may not be here tomorrow? When we are slapped with the reality that we are NOT immortal that is when we tend to "do the right thing", to "reach out", to be kinder, gentler and more loving. This applies whether a devastaing nationwide event occurs or even if something happens within your own personal network of loved ones.

Well, I know that I'm declaring the following:

1) Even if one of my friends/family members isn't quite behaving towards me as I would like them to, I'm going to make an effort to look beyond that.

2) I am going to do a better job of staying in contact with those that mean the most to me.

3) I'm going to dig deep into my soul and work towards forgiving those who have wronged me, etc.

Wouldn't be great if all of us were able to adopt and follow through with this same declaration? Let's just pray that I don't fail!

Until next time...peace, LOVE and health!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey