today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-07-08 - 7:39 a.m.

What a day I had yesterday. And despite it all, I was in good spirits.

Actually, first thing in the morning, SleepyJane twitters: "I think it's going to be a good day!" I agreed with her. Little did I know what was in store for me.

I arrived at work at my usual time. I turned on my computer in the usual way. I drank my usual one cup of coffee. I started to respond to emails in the usual fashion.

Then I T happened.

My computer crashed. Totally. Blank screen. Shut down. Quit. Stopped. No more.

I immediately called the IT Helpdesk. After running a few checks, he determined that I was going to need local support. He put in a trouble ticket to our local IT staff in Miami. A few hours later, our local guy called me and told me that he'd have to replace the hard drive. At 3:30 he arrived and swapped it out. He said he would try to recover my files, etc. and would work on that first thing tomorrow [today] morning. However, even though I have the new hard drive installed, I basically only have access to the internet. I don't have any of my links to the programs that I use much less to the programs that are loaded on my computer. In fact, not even the email program (LotusNotes) is available to me!

But, I kept trudging along with a smile on my face no less.

Then the unthinkable happened. (Yeah, I know you're probably saying-- "You mean to tell me that your computer crashing ISN'T the unthinkable?!?!"

My boss yelled at me. It shocked and stunned me especially because we have such a good working relationship. Not only that, he's usually so calm and peaceful. To top it off, he got upset with something that was not my fault.

At. All.

You see, we have all sorts of different badges that the technicians are required to have. One of them is for our local airport, here (our technicians are actually responsible for 4 local airports). This badge has to be renewed annually, just before their birthday. The forms for these particular badges are on my desk in a folder. Recently, our coordinator (who is the one in charge of handling this) sent me an email with the updated forms. He instructed me to use the new forms (which by the way are actually from the county--- it's their badging system because they actually own the land that the airport physically sits on) and not to use the old forms. So, I printed out the new forms, threw out the old ones and placed them into the folder.

One of the techs needed to renew his badge but was unsure what portion of the new forms he needed to fill out. He went to the boss. He came to me. He went to the boss. He came back to me. Finally, my boss came over to my desk and asked me where were the other forms. I said that I had thrown them out. He instantly got pissed and I quickly recognized that he was angry because he thought that I had trashed the SIGNED forms. However, the COUNTY retains the completed forms in their office. I also explained very calmly that I was instructed by the coordinator to replace the forms and followed that statement by telling him that if he needed it, I had the original (older) forms on my computer. He looked directly at me and said very sternly, "You only do what *I* tell you to do!" I was flabbergasted. He angrily walked away and as he entered the doorway to his office, I said aloud, "My gosh!" (because I was so taken aback) He immediately marched up to my desk with his finger pointing to my face and growled, "You'd better watch your comments." I tried to defend myself but he just repeated himself. I cooly followed him back to his office and said to him, "I didn't mean to go over your head. Our coordinator has ALWAYS been in charge of this program and the only reason the forms are located in a file on my desk is because they'd get lost in his." (Our coordinator has a very, very messy office.) I said also, "If I need to do this differently, I'd be happy to do so. I thought you were aware of the program and the new forms because Jos� CCed you on the email when he asked me to print out the forms."

I then politely asked him to check for that email in his archives. Sure enough, it was there just like I mentioned. My boss seemed to calm down from there and thankfully, the rest of the day was very good between us and everything went back to "normal" as far as our working relationship was concerned.

And yet, I still stayed calm and even happy the rest of the day. I'm very proud of myself for that.

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey