today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2003-02-10 - 5:30 p.m.

See, even when he was little my husband was a handsome little devil! Not only is my husband handsome, but he's so kind, gentle, and thoughtful.

Yesterday was his 29th birthday.

After seeing a movie, we were driving down the highway and noticed a row of tents under the overpass. These tents seemed to be the same tents we saw in the same place when we were here in Huntsville last year.

Ben suspected that there might be homeless people living there. Temperatures here in Huntsville have been very cold during the day and near freezing at night. He turned to me and said, "Do you know what I have a craving for?" I couldn't imagine what he was about to say next. I thought it was going to be something silly but instead he says, "I would really love to buy all the ingredients to make a big pot of chili and take it to those homeless people."

We were headed to Super Target at the time anyway. Since I make chili quite often, I know off the top of my head what ingredients we needed to buy in order to make it. He also picked up a couple of boxes of saltine crackers, plastic spoons and a few Gladware containers.

We headed back to the RV and I cooked up the chili. According to Ben, it was one of the best pots of chili that I've made yet! He divided the chili into the Gladware containers and put them in shopping bags with the crackers and spoons. We decided for safety purposes that I'd say behind.

He took that hot, fresh chili and crackers to 4 homeless men who were very thankful for the food. The "ringleader" of the group, Richard told Ben that he's been living there for 3 years. Ben met each of the men and when it was time for him to go, each of them hugged him and told him "God Bless You". He was very fulfilled from the experience.

His thoughtfullness & kindness doesn't stop there.

When I woke up this morning to tape a show called INHALE for my girlfriend, Melissa, I reached over his heavy body to feel my way around the closet where I keep my workout clothes. It was dark and the lights were off. I reached in and recognized by the weight of the fabric that I had grabbed my black pants with the 2 solid white stripes going down the sides. I reached in again, expecting to pull down the only other pair of workout pants that I own. They're lightweight, black, and have a drawstring in the middle. Instead, I felt more heavy fabric. At this moment, Ben sits up in the bed, says, "SURPRISE!" He switches on the light and there, in my left hand is a jacket and matching pants that I had mentioned to him that I had wanted. I saw the set at Super Target on Friday and pointed them out to him. He decided to get the set for me. What a guy, huh? He is truly amazing!!!

Now all I have to do is take the pants to an alteration shop and have them shortened. (Damn me and my 4'11" frame!)

Hee, hee!!!

Thought Of The Day: "No act of kindness, no matter how small is ever wasted." --Unknown

Bonus Thought Of The Day: ...from Ben to a collegue after being asked if he knew how to pray, "Unless the 800 number to God has changed..."

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey