today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-05-13 - 6:29 a.m.

Just when I think that my life isn't all that great... just when I think that my physical appearance is the end all & be all of my existance... just when I think that the world is falling to pieces around me... I am humbled once again.

During my morning jog on the treadmill, I like to watch "Nanny 911". It's a great show and at the same time, I've learned a thing or two despite not being a parent yet myself. Typically the show features a family who has children totally out of control and 90% of the time the responsibility falls back on the parents and their discipline style (or lack thereof).

However, this morning was quite different. It featured a family where the mom and dad had voluntarily taken in 24 boys. Yes, you read that correctly: TWENTY-FOUR!! Now, what is even more unique about this family is that all of the boys have some sort of special need. Some have physical needs while others have emotional needs. For example, one 6yr old boy had severe brain/head trauma after being violently abused by his biological parent(s). As a result, not only does he act out against the other boys when he's angry, it's difficult for him to verbalize what he's feeling.

The mom of the family, Anne takes care of everything! She makes breakfast, packs all the lunches (the kids go to school! yay!), does thirty loads of laundry a day, cooks dinner and cleans up. At a typical breakfast, they go through 4 dozen eggs and quite a few loaves of bread. (Can you imagine that grocery bill?!?)

Anne is extremely patient, loving and definitely emotionally connected to each and every boy in that house. Now, just when you think this woman couldn't be more of a saint, the show explains that her husband is a paraplegic (sp?) so she also helps him shower, shave, dress and so forth.

As I mentioned previously, normally the show features parents who have lost their way and as a result the kids are out of control. This family (given the special needs of many of the boys) was far from out of control or chaotic. Instead, the purpose was for the nannies to stay with all of the children while the parents took their first mini-vacation ever! (they've been married 7 years) And usually, the show features one of three nannies: Nanny Stella, Nanny Deb or Nanny Yvonne. (Stella is my fave; I love her accent, too!) This show, they sent ALL three nannies for the job! And they were quite overwhelmed at first. I commented to Ben, "And to think that the mom does is all and by herself!"

I have often considered the option of adoption/foster care. Many people say, "Oh, I don't want those problems!" and yet that's the problem. Too many people don't step up and these poor kids get lost in the system. It's not their fault they're born with or develop a disability (so-to-speak). It's not their fault that they were abandoned by their parent(s).

I know it would be quite a challenge but the rewards would far outweigh all the work required to care for a child with needs. I don't know if I would follow through with this 'dream' but it would be nice to be able to give a child an opportunity for a life in a loving, stable home.

I just don't think that *I* could give a loving, stable home to TWENTY-FOUR children at one time! ;-)

The most humbling statement Nanny Stella made during the show which will stick to me for a long, long time was: "As long as you have a heart and a brain, you're not disabled." (not a direct quote but paraphrased)

So today I'm going to focus on my ABILITIES and not my DISabilities. Shouldn't we all?

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey