today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2008-09-14 - 4:35 a.m.

Once again, dear readers I want to thank everyone who has been very encouraging and supportive through my crummy week. While I realize that what I'm going through isn't as bad as maybe what some other people in this world have to endure, it still is very difficult for me (us) regardless.

Having said that, I'm now going to get down to the nitty-gritty and divuldge the core of what made this week so utterly horrible for Ben and me.

My boss is changing MY schedule. You see, since I started with the F.A.A. (and bonus point to Gia--your new nickname and you know who you are---for remembering this), I have worked what we call a "Four Ten" schedule. This means that I work four (10) hour days each week. There are 2 weeks in each pay period for us. We are paid every other Tuesday. Well, my boss works a "Straight 8". This means that he works five (8) hour days each week. As many of you know, I have every Friday off.

Well, a few weeks ago, my so-called-boss had 2 Fridays back-to-back where he became flustered and frustrated because he was trying to accomplish something and A) didn't know how, B) didn't understand where to get the information he needed, or C) didn't realize that it could have waited or he just could have called me on my cell. He has my number. Or, dear reader, it was all of the above. You see, right now we're at the close of FY08. This means that our fiscal year is coming to an end and the new one is about to begin. This means that the manager and I work quite closely hand-in-hand to ensure all of the paperwork regarding our budget is done efficiently and properly. This has not been a big deal previously except when Upper Management decides to give us like one week to spend a shit-ton of money that has to be used up. We call this our "Wish List" money. (this year we haven't gotten it so far and probably won't... that's because the district in Puerto Rico effed up.. but I'm not bitter......)

Anywho... so what this means for the manager and for me usually is that I have to ensure that all of the credit card purchases are entered into our REGIS program (the FAA's electronic checkbook basically) and he has to make all of his approvals in the US Bank program (the software used in conjunction with the technicians' credit cards). In one more week, the credit cards are turned off until after October 1st and no one is permitted to purchase anything.

Not one red cent. Not one purple, orange or green cent either. But I digress...

Sooooooooooo... long story longer is that instead of being a big boy and calling me on those 2 Fridays to help him out, he panics and tells me this Monday ---IN AN EMAIL that I'm to start working a "Straight Eight" schedule. Originally, he wanted me to start this schedule tomorrow (September 15th) but according to my Union Contract he *HAS* to give me a 30day notice. Now, you wanna here a kicker?? When that date rolls around, not only will we (the FAA) be well over the End Of Big Bad Scary Fiscal Year Budget Stuff, but he's going to be on leave (vacation) for two weeks in GERMANY!!!!!!!! Yeah.

Now, dear SMART readers (cuz I know you guys have more brains in your head than he does) what he is failing to keep in mind is the fact that from here on out, it's our downward slide. The beginning of a fiscal year is pretty slow in addition to this starts our "holiday" season--- grab your calendar right quick and you will see a government holiday every month through February. Yeah. And two in November. I point this out because starting *IN* November, we enter a Moritorium (sp?) where the technicians are NOT permitted to work on any piece of equipment unless it is completely OOC. (Out Of Commission) This is Tech Ops' slow season, but obviously this is peak flying time from Nov to Jan and Air Traffic's busiest. And we all know how the gov't basically closes down (sort of) during Christmas. This is all the long-winded way of saying that there won't even be a need for me to work on Fridays during this time.

Now, intelligent readers (if you're still interested in what I have to say and haven't bored you to the point of leaving my page), the two things next will shock you.

1) He's not changing Ben's schedule. It doesn't take a rocket scientist, however, to figure out that my husband is not going to stay home on Fridays while I work; I'm not going to wait around 4 days a week for 2 hours past my quitting time to take him home; and he's not going to drive all the way to work then home then work then home on Fridays for me because we only have ONE car. Having said that, Ben is permitted to change his schedule to match min but he's had the Four Ten schedule since he was first hired with the FAA almost 10 years ago.

2) Ben did have a very polite, diplomatic and respectful discussion with our boss regarding this issue to see if he could sway him to not change my (our) schedule. He wouldn't BUDGE. Now, add to the fact that Ben finally tried to C O M P R O M I S E with the manager by offering me (us) to work a "5-4-9" schedule. Basically this means that you get every OTHER Friday off. And guess what? The manager STILL would NOT budge.

I lost all respect for him when I heard that. I figured that the "5-4-9" schedule would be a win-win situation for all parties. (Now, don't get me wrong, I don't want my schedule to change AT ALL but I thought this would at least be a compromise.)

In addition, Ben tried to explain to him (which I mentioned to my boss several weeks ago) that we're both taking college classes and we need all three days to accomplish what we need to do. This is NOT a lie. In fact, yesterday for example, I spent from 7:30am until 5:30pm doing my lessons and homework for Intermediate Algebra. It takes me that long because I'm basically having to read the chapters in the textbook, write down notes, use the example exercises to figure out the answers to the practice exercises and then do the homework and submit it online. Today will be another long homework day after I finish this blog entry and workout. In fact, Ben and I won't likely leave the house today other than to get the mail (unless by some miracle I can get both lessons complete).

So add up all of *THIS* to what I have mentioned in the last entry and you can see why I am so angry, hurt, frustrated, hurt, pissed off, etc. with my current working conditions. It has gotten to the point where Ben and I are SERIOUSLY considering moving elsewhere.

But enough about that for now... I hope this entry wasn't too long for you to read all the way through. I like to try to keep 'em short & sweet so as not to bore you dear reader but this time, I needed to be more detailed. Of course, like with any serious situation, there is MORE MORE MORE to be said but I don't have the strength to do so right now. Perhaps I'll save it for another blog entry. For now, all of you who are spiritual in one form or fashion, please either pray or send out good vibes into the universe that my manager---read: selfish jerkface--- will come to his senses and change his mind and not my schedule.

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey