today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2007-08-15 - 12:33 p.m.

Did I mention that Saturday we went to a retirement party for one of the air traffic controllers?

Well, we did and had a really good time. There were only 4 of us from Tech Ops that showed up; me and Ben, John (our supervisor) and Shawn; one of the radar techs.

Ben and I got there around 12:30 and stayed until it was over. While there, I mingled with some of the girls from Air Traffic. M. had to go on position at 3, so she left early. R. also had to work. But S. and L. were there. J., one of our good buddies who we�ve gone bowling with brought Jell-o shots! He made them with tequila (clear) as well as grenadine. Yum-o! (I only had one.)

In fact, J. had been drinking almost all day: beer, rum & soda, plus some of the Jell-o shots so at the end of the party I promptly informed him that we were going to take him home. At first, he tried to convince me that he was fine and that it wasn�t necessary to drive him home. Of course, I wasn�t giving in. Even if he was �fine�, a B.A.C. is a B.A.C. and you can�t argue that with the government or a judge!

Ben drove J.�s car and I followed behind in ours. When we dropped him off, J. was very appreciative after all.

There was a lot of food, too. One guy, M. made 50lbs of ribs---he pressure cooked them first at home and then bbq�d them on the open-flamed grill at the party. (They had the party at a local park. Our area had a large, covered pavilion.)

There were also a lot of hot dogs, hamburgers, potato salad, trays of baked beans, etc. Some people brought store-bought pies and cakes. Of course, I brought my famous chocolate chip cookies and I also made a batch of double-chocolate chip cookies. I added white chocolate chips and pecans to those. Both batches received raving reviews!

I had such a great time, especially chatting with the girls from Air Traffic that I came up with an EXCELLENT (in my humble opinion) idea! I decided to steal borrow my girlfriend�s idea and have a Girls� Game Night at my place!

I even used this cool website Evites to send out the invitations. I�ve set it up so that each person can easily RSVP using their invitation and I�ll receive an email telling me if they can attend or not. It�s really cool!

I decided to have the party next Friday, the 24th starting around 6-ish. I�m going to provide food/snacks/beverages, etc. I�m really excited but I�m really nervous, too. It�s been a lonnnng time since I had a "party" at my place. I�m worried that hardly anyone will show.

Then again, I sent the e-vites out around 10am and in half an hour, S. had already RSVP-ed indicating that she was going to attend! Wheee!!! So, cross your fingers for me that 1) I have a good turn out and 2) everyone has a really good time!

So for the next week or so, I�m gonna be planning out the details of this thing. Wish me luck!!!

Until next time�peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey