today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2001-06-17 - 7:01 a.m.

Briefly.... I GOT NEW CLOTHES!!!

WOO-HOO!!! I was in need of them, too. Ben got new clothes this weekend as well. His were deeply discounted. If any of ya'll need good quality teeshirts that look nice, head on over to Old Navy. We got Ben 4 tees, a pair of dress slacks and a tee for me all for the low, low price of $31. (might have been $35 with taxes). The dress slacks alone were only $6.99!!! Yeah, buddy! :-)

Unfortunately, not the case with the clothes I ended up getting. They were on sale alright, but not deeply discounted like Ben's were. I went to Lerner and spent about $80 on 2 pairs of dress slacks, 2 sleeveless blouse-like shirts and a gold chain for around my waist. I also got a really pretty dress at Hecht's. (department store similiar to JC Penney's, Sears, Dillard's, etc... but they have nicer stuff in my opinion than Penney's & Sears) Then I got a pair of dress black sandals at Easy Spirit. The lady there always gives us discounts when we buy shoes... I got a pair of $50 shoes (w/o tax) for $42 (WITH tax). It was awesome!!!

sidenote: for those of you unfamiliar with the tax percentage in North Carolina, it's 6.5 ---that means the $50 shoes would have been $53.25....I saved $13!

Even if the shoes had been full price, I would pay $50 for Easy Spirits. They are such comfy shoes. And they're stylish now, too. Years ago, they looked like "Grandma" shoes. Very orthopedic looking. Not so the case now. They have heels, sandals, flats, dress shoes, sneakers...you name it, they have it and most of them look really cute!

Ok, ok...I'm babbling now.

The only bad part of the weekend was my haircut. I had gone on Friday night and gotten a consultation with the stylist ahead of time. The salon is a reputable one; Toni&Guy. (They're the ones that make all the TIGI products.)

Note to Rosemarie: those are the products that you recommended to me a long time ago. :-)

Anyway, so I go back yesterday afternoon to get the cut that the stylist and I had discussed. He shampoos me. Meanwhile massaging my head. It felt so good. Then he put on a reconstructive conditioner specially formulated for highlighted hair. (It's called "Dumb Blonde") :-) Again, a good massage. At this point I'm thinking to myself that he's going to get a good tip.

So, afterwards he combs me all out. Then starts the haircut. It takes him over an hour to do the entire procedure. I'm starting to feel impatient and, of course, I had to pee! :-) He finishes the cut and begins the blowdry. When it was done, he asks me if I like it. Never in my life have I been so blunt; I respond, "No. I don't like it at all." I wasn't rude, but very to the point. It looked NOTHING like we had discussed and had even picked out a picture. It was supposed to be a simple cut. The only place he took off hair was in the front at an angle.

Don't worry you guys... it's salvagable. (<---sp?) And it doesn't look sooooooo different than I had it before the cut. I was just pissed to spend $35 on a haircut that didn't turn out like it was supposed to. I ended up putting my barrettes back in my hair before I left. I shouldn't walk out of a salon with my hair looking like it did when I walked in. The other fortunate thing was that the style that I chose will be easy for me to grow out.

In a nutshell, that was my adventurous weekend!

Hope yours was just as exciting...if not more so!!!

Thought Of The Day:"Patience, n. A minor form of dispair, disguised as a virtue."--Ambrose Bierce, The Devil's Dictionary, 1911

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey