today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2007-03-22 - 6:54 a.m.

I can totally relate to how she feels.

I am fortunate that my husband isn't gone on a long deployment and 99% of the time I get to sleep by his side each night. Sure, there are times that he has to go away for training but that only happens once a year; twice at best.

However, I hate not having a real social network surrounding me. I think that's why when I was back in the RV I became so engrossed in General Hospital. I watched it religiously... sometimes viewing 5 or 6 episodes straight that I had TiVo-ed. It was as if the characters were somehow my friends even though I wasn't an active participant. That's pretty sad, isn't it?

And then yesterday, I overheard some of the AT (Air Traffic) people talking about meeting at "X" restaurant for dinner and drinks. A few minutes later, I heard someone else talking about going to a buddy's house for poker night. I jokingly commented, "Gee, I need to get a life!" But inside, I was serious.

It's getting harder and harder to "meet" people. Okay... it's not that hard to MEET someone but it's hard to get to be friends with that person because these days people are so flaky. (And not the good kind of flaky like a KFC biscuit!)

By flaky I mean that I've met someone, hit it off, wanted to be friends, made plans, got together, had a blast and then made plans to do it again. However, that's when the other person FLAKES out on me.... she doesn't show up. She doesn't call. She doesn't apologize a few days later when she sees me and acts like nothing happened. I forgive her and then I do it all again. I don't have time for that crap but it seems to be the way a LOT of people are. I just don't get it.

For awhile, I began to think that it was me...that maybe *I* was doing something wrong or not doing something right because it kept happening over and over and over again. I just couldn't fathom what was so hard about calling me and saying, "Hey, Michele.. I know we have plans but something has come up and I can't make it. Can we reschedule?" Or, at the least call the next day and say, "Michele, I'm sorry I didn't call you yesterday. Something came up and I just couldn't make it."

I can deal with that a whole lot better than just plain being ignored!

And then for me, I started looking foward to the comments on my diary and Flickr page to keep me feeling like I was somebody but little by little that, too started to wane. {However, I have to give big props to my sister because she is the most consistent about leaving me SOME sort of comment and I thank her for that! At least I know she cares. Well, I *think* she does anyhow.}

So after a bit of time passing, I started to get depressed too and decided to just ensconce <---(sp?) myself in my own life: work, home, sleep, work, home, sleep, work, home, sleep, etc.

But all work and no play makes Michele a very unhappy and sad girl. :-(

I am hoping and wishing that when Karyl moves back east, I'll be more able to pop up for a weekend here and there and maybe she can pop down here now and again.... cuz when we're together, laughter typically ensues.

(Especially if there are cosmos and/or margaritas involved!) *wink*

Note to Sis: I'm sittin' right beside ya on your Pity Wagon. In fact, I got my seat belt on and am all strapped in with no place to go!

And in the wise words I once heard: "This too shall pass."

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
At least I hope so!!!

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey