today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2006-11-07 - 8:59 a.m.

I am learning more and more why there is the phrase, "To go postal". I about went postal myself yesterday.

At. The. Post. Office.

{imagine that!}

Ok, so there I am trying to send out a few letters, my car payment (because apparently GMAC can't bother to get into the digital age and offer online services) and a box for my sister.

I wait very patiently in line behind the other 6 people who decided to go to the post office at the exact same time as I did. When it's my turn I walk up to the cashier, set my box on the counter, hand her the letters and say pleasantly, "I'll give ya the easy stuff first."

(Keep in mind that this isn't my normal post office by the RV park.)

She shoots back quickly with, "Are you going to need insurance or delivery confirmation?" as she points to the box. I reply calmly, "I dunno. I'll figure that out at the end." (This is how I always conduct business at my post office.)

She snaps back with, "I can't start your transaction until you tell me if you're going to do insurance or delivery confirmation." Quickly I retort, "I'll take the delivery confirmation." She hands me the green slip and tells me that I need to step aside and fill it out while she takes the next customer. (At my post office, they fill it out for you.) I shove the small piece of paper back towards her and say, "Nevermind."

She asks if I need individual stamps for the letter items and I reply that I do as well as a book of them, too. She then asks if I want her to take the 3 stamps out of the book and affix them to the letters or if I want the book intact and 3 separate stamps put on each letter item. I reply that I'd like the latter choice.

Finally, we come to the box. It's a Jack LaLanne juicer that Karyl wanted from me. (She's going to love making fresh juice for Gracie!) The least expensive that I could send the box for was $25 and change. I told the clerk, "Nevermind. I'll just take it to FedEx and send it ground."

She rings up my total and I hand her my debit card. Now, for those of you who don't know, my credit union is Navy Federal and they're based out of Vienna, Virginia which is not too far from our nation's capital.

My debit card is rather new; a few months ago I mistakenly left it in the ATM machine at Super Target and had to have a new card sent to me. When this happened, not only did my name change on the card (now it has Ben's name instead of mine) but my PIN changed as well. Ok. No huge deal there even though I had known my previous PIN for 8+ years.

No. I'm not bitter.

So anywho... I hand her my debit card and she asks me for identification. Right off the bat, I should have seen a red flag. I hand her my driver's license. She snottily asks me, "Who is Benjamin ___________?" I reply quickly, "Oh, that's my husband." Instantly I remember that the new debit card has his name on it instead of mine. I show her my ShareCheck card so she can see the Navy Federal Credit Union logo on both.

She gets really huffy and says to me, "I'll let you use it THIS time, but not again." Next thing I know, she's pulling out a pamphlet and pointing to it while saying that the post office will not accept debit cards without the cardholder's name on it and a valid signature on the back.

Well, the thing is that NO ONE has ever in all the time I've had my debit card, asked me for ID. It's a D E B I T card with a PIN. The PIN is basically your "signature". I paid for my transaction (all $9 and change of it) and walked out the door.

Soon after, I decided to call NFCU to determine if I mistakenly had a card with Ben's name on it or if indeed, they had changed to having the primary account holder's name on the front of the card.

Instantly I explain my situation to the rep who indicated to me that yes, I had been mistakenly sent a card with my husband's name on it despite the fact the each of us has a separate PIN that accompanies each card. I then debate whether or not I want to deal with this situation again or if I should go ahead and order a new card.

A new card would mean a N E W PIN. I had just learned the one from a few months ago and was bummed that I'd be subject to learning yet ANOTHER pin. I know that learning PINs is not a huge deal, but I just didn't want to do it.

Then the rep tells me that NFCU now offers self-select PINs.

Reeeeeeealllllly!

Okay. I can do this. So I quickly debated as to what I should choose for a new PIN. I decided that I really liked the PIN that was assigned to the card I had left in the ATM machine at Super Target especially because I had had that PIN for so many years.

I told the rep my choice and he told me that my new card should arrive in 7 to 10 days meanwhile the current card would expire & deactivate in 14 days.

So now, I will have MY name back on my debit card WITH my old PIN!!!!

A blessing in disguise.

So, Thank You Ms. Postal Bitch. Thank you for giving me a hassle about my husband's name being on my debit card. Without you, I would never have had the opportunity to get a new card with my OWN name on it as well as a card that would give me BACK my old PIN!!!

Now I don't hafta go postal about my debit card!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey