today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2003-03-31 - 1:14 p.m.

This one won't take near as long as that last one. But, wasn't it worth all the time & energy I put into it? And, thanks so much to everyone who left me a guestbook signing or emailed me with a comment. I needed my ego stroked. Heh heh.

Ok, so here goes...

Saturday night, Ben decided to take me out on Date Night. We got dressed up and drove to the Charleston Crab House. This location is the only one that overlooks the water.

After much discussion because of the price, I decide to order the A.Y.C.E. snow crab legs. For those of you who know me intimately or who have read my diary for any extended length of time, you KNOW that Snow Crab Legs are my most favorite meal in the entire universe. Ben encourages me to go ahead and order them despite the $28 price tag. (Just remember, this is all-you-can-eat.)

He orders a salad and a plain baked potato. For those of you who don't know, Ben is HIGHLY allergic to seafood. One bite has him hurling for hours. (sorry for the disgusting image) Being vegetarian, there is nothing else on the menu for him to order.

[Side note: I don't want anyone to sign my guestbook, leave a note or email me saying that eating seafood means that I am not a vegetarian. Vegetarianism comes in may forms and one of which is called a Pescetarian; does not consume animal flesh but does eat seafood.]

Ok. Back to the story.

So, the first plate of 2 clusters arrive. I dive right in. The waitress asks if she should put another order in. "Definitely!" I reply enthusiastically. I do this a few more times and about halfway through my meal,the funniest thing happens.

I'm sitting there, metal crab crackers in hand trying to shuck open a claw. Then, all of a sudden, I let out a yelp. Half of my crab claw slips out of my hand and begins to hurdle across the room much in the same fashion as the escargot that Julia Roberts flung across the restaurant in Pretty Woman. SWEAR-TO-GAWD! I watch as the claw seemingly moves in slow motion. It came close to taking out this innocent 10 year old girl who was dining with her mother. Fortunately for me, she saw nothing and the crab landed under her chair. The other half of the claw that was in my hand at this point had exploded all over me. Ben and I are laughing hysterically as he cleans up the bits of crab from my forehead, chin, cheeks, shoulders and arms. It was a scene right out of a sitcom, I tell ya!

Ben retrieved the claw from beneath the little girl's chair in a stealth-like manner and returned it to my discard pile of shells.

We laughed a good long while afterwards at that episode!

Needless to say, I ate our $28 worth of Snow Crab Legs. Remember I said they brought out 2 clusters at a time? Well, each cluster has 4 to 5 legs on it and I managed to put away not 1, not 2, not 3,

.

.

.

.

not 8 , 10 or 12.....

but FOURTEEN clusters!!!

And I enjoyed every single last one of those 14 clusters.

I think they have a picture of me posted on their wall with a big red slash through the center.

Heh, heh!

Thought Of The Day:"If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world."--J. R. R. Tolkien (1892 - 1973)

Until next time...peace, love, & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey