today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2000-09-11 - 08:45am

Ok, folks...tell me; is it so wrong of me to read other people's diaries to become inspired to make an entry of my own? I was sitting here racking my brain for something interesting to write, but nothing came to me.

Unless you want me to tell you how I woke up at 3am with Ben this morning to finish helping him pack and get ready to drive to Atlanta. He'll be gone until Friday evening. :-(

I'll survive.

Anyway, I read my sister's recent entry and just feel compelled to express my own feelings on the subject.

I have never liked my name. This has deeply bothered my father since it was he who came up the the genius idea of how to spell my name. As Karyl mentioned, both of our first names are derivitive of our mother's first name: Kathryn. She goes by Katie. (which suits her really well, I have to admit... Kathryn is just too formal, ya know?!?) My mother's middle name is May so therefore, Dad decided that when each of us were born, he wanted us to all have the same initials: KMG. Of course, Mom and Dad are long time divorced at this point so that didn't work out for him!

My dislike for my name really first started in 8th grade. An incident had taken place and at the time I was furious with my mother. I "hated" her. To get "revenge" in my own childish way, I stopped going by Karyn and started using my middle name, Michele. I figured at the time that Karyn was closer to Kathryn and Michele was not. I also surmised that Michele actually fit me better. That name was more suited to my personality. (I still agree with this thought!)

So, the first day of my freshman year in highschool, when the teacher did roll call, I piped up in each class and told him/her that I go by Michele. I've been going by Michele ever since.

The other reason I hated my name was that everyone CONSTANTLY spelled it wrong. Even my teachers who saw it every day on my homework and test papers. I found this to be disrespectful to a degree. I mean, halfway through the school year, the teacher should be able to spell her/his students' names properly. No matter where I went, people insisted on spelling my name K-A-R-E-N. Ironically, whenever I see the name "Karen" I feel as though it's spelled wrong and want to change that E to a Y. :-)

At one time in my life I was so fed up with people mispelling my name and then also mispronouncing my last name (Goldstein) at the time that I was determined that when I turned 18, I was going to legally change my name to Lisa Marie Horn. Don't ask where I came up with that, I just did.

My name has caused me a lot of pain over the years. (Sorry, Momma!) Finding personalize stationery or pens or pencils is a moot point. Though, a few months back I got really lucky... I was at a Flying J gas station and found a wooden key chain with "Michele" on it. I snapped that puppy right up. I still have it on my keychain!

Of course, I am planning to do the same things to my children. I want them to suffer like I did by having a uniquely spelled name! HA HA HA!!!! {evil laughter}

Ok, I'm just kidding. I may or may not curse my children with misspelling their names.

So, there ya have it. The legend of my sister's and my names.

Thought Of The Day:"Forgive your enemies, but never forget their names."--John Fitzgerald Kennedy

Thought Of The Day #2:"Man is the only creature that refuses to be what he is."--Albert Camus

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey