today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2004-03-13 - 10:54 a.m.

Last night, Ben and I were channel-surfing. We stopped on a program called "The 80's Strike Back: 1988". We watched for a few minutes while the host was talking about the fashion of ripped jeans. The show had several celebrities giving their stories of the ripped jeans fashion. I hit pause on the Tivo and turned to Ben.

I said to him, "I was not ALLOWED to wear ripped jeans. At all. Ever. In fact, not only was I not allowed to wear ripped jeans or jeans with holes in them, Marty would patch them. OH, YES. Instead of buying me a new pair of jeans that I obviously needed, she would patch the holes and send me to school with patched jeans. To make matters worse, the patch would be a dark, dark denim color and my jeans were either faded denim or acid-washed. So there I'd go, off to school, with these ridiculous patches on my clothing. No. I wasn't cool. Yes. I was made fun of."

Ben shook his head, hugged me and said as he stifled a giggle, "I'm so sorry, Honey!" He could feel my pain. (mock sarcasm)

Then I turned back to him and added, "It really is a miracle that I didn't turn to drugs and/or alcohol!!!"

This comment made him laugh out loud.

I will not do this to my child.

I will not do this to my child.

I will not do this to my child.

Well, unles by the time I have a child and s/he is in school it has become cool to have patched clothing. Then and only then would I do that to my child.

The 80's may have stuck back, but I won't!!!

Thought Of The Day: "Women thrive on novelty and are easy meat for the commerce of fashion. Men prefer old pipes and torn jackets." --Anthony Burgess (1917 - 1993)

Until next time... peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey