today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2002-03-16 - 4:22 p.m.

Going to the movies is both a fun and a bittersweet experience for me.

I absolutely enjoy being entertained and absorbing myself into the story, but I am sadly jolted back into reality when the lights come up and I see how many of my fellow Americans are rude.

What do I mean? I am just astounded at the number of individuals that throw their trash on the floor of the movie theater because they know that "someone will clean it up after them". It pisses me off to no end. I've even seen some people go as far as to strategically place their oversized soda cup and popcorn bag on the floor. It's one thing if you spill a couple of kernels onto the floor, or if you accidently drop a gummie bear or two, but it's a whole different thing when an area around 2 or 3 movie chairs is just obliterated with trash.

And it doesn't stop there. I realize that when you dine in a restaurant that the waitress/waiter typically clears your dishes as you finish with them and after you leave, the busboy/busgirl cleans the rest of the table. What I don't understand is why not clean up some of the mess yourself? I hate going into a restaurant and witnessing other people being rude pigs---they just completely trash their table because they "don't have to clean it up". A lot of people sadly have the mentality that it's Not Their Job. Well, I have to say it may not Be My Job To Clean The Entire Table, but I am also a grown woman and can clean up after myself. I am not so selfish that I think that someone should be coming behind me and cleaning up my "mess" just because they're in the foodservice industry or are the ushers in a movie theater. It's just rude and down right snobbish in my opinion!

Ben and I do a decent job of stacking up all our dishes as best as we can and picking up our napkins and straw wrappers and making a neat pile of it all so that the server and/or busperson can just carry it away swiftly. We also always gather ALL our trash and dispose of it in the bins outside the theater when we exit. Why are so many adults so lazy and irresponsible.

Then they teach their children to behave in the exact same manner. It just disturbs and outrages me. It should at least be against the law to "litter" in a movie theater! You wonder why ticket prices sky-rocket? It's because they have to pay those ushers a decent salary to become like servants and clean up after their fellow Americans. It's just not right!

Ok, {deep breath} I'm stepping off my soap-box for now.

But, I beg you, please pick up your trash before you leave a theater. Don't be rude and EXPECT someone to come behind your sorry, lazy ass and clean it up FOR you!!! And, try to be kinder to those hard-working, low-paid servers the next time you dine out and give them a hand cleaning up your table!

Thought Of The Day:"Moral cowardice that keeps us from speaking our minds is as dangerous to this country as irresponsible talk. The right way is not always the popular and easy way. Standing for right when it is unpopular is a true test of moral character."--Margaret Chase Smith (1897- - 1995) US politician

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey