today I'm feeling
The current mood of CitrusGirl at www.imood.com




The WeatherPixie

santa icon

CitrusGirl. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr




Talk to me
Spots in the Shade
Bright Sunlight






Living Fit & Healthy

Cast Of Characters

Gallery



Take Survey


What do you think?



Diaryland.com
Full Moon Graphics
Forever Sisters






Take Survey

(previous) (next)

2005-09-28 - 8:24 a.m.

One one hand, I can't believe that I haven't updated in 11 days. On the other, I can.

My life is basically devoid of excitement or news worth reporting. Don't get me wrong, things go on with me but I just don't feel they're worth writing about.

I did find out some disturbing information yesterday. Did you know that if you register with the Do Not Call List that non-profit organizations as well as political organizations are exempt?? I think that's a load of crap.

I mean, obviously if I go out of my way to put myself on a Do Not Call list, then DO NOT CALL ME. Period.

Even more frustrating is the fact that the only phone I have is my cell. I don't want to waste my minutes while some telemarketer yaps away.

Oh. Wait. That's right. The guy who called yesterday assured me that it wasn't a sales call.

Whatever!

I can always tell when a telemarketer on the rare and random occasion does happen to get hold of my cell phone number and call me. Either they call me by my first name (dead give away) or they ask to speak to "The Lady of The House".

Hrmmm.... I should have been a smart-ass and said, I'm not the Lady of the House but I am the Lady of the RV. Of course, we always think of great things to say after the conversation is over.

I should have let him go on with his little spiel and then answered his questions in quite a contrary manner. The organization was Christian and they're trying to promote "good television watching" and such.

Excuse me but I am an adult; I pay taxes (ok, Ben does),I am of legal age to drink alcohol, and definitely quite capable of making my own decisions as to what is acceptable to watch on television.

I know that their main demographic is parents with young children. However, I don't think we need an organization to decide for us what our kids can or can't watch.

And this V-chip that is advertised. Let me tell you that I grew up without a V-chip in my television that would have prevented me from viewing any television show my mom or dad or stepmom deemed to be unacceptable. In fact, when I was a latch-key kid my mom told me NOT to turn on the tv and despite the fact that she wasn't home to monitor my actions, I simply DID NOT TURN ON THE TV!

Ok. Twice. I caught the tail end of General Hospital...for about 2 minutes. But over all, I did what I was told.

Why is it that a lot of parents these days are relying on technology to take care of their parenting? Is it any wonder why so many children and teens are out of control??

I'm no expert but it seems simple enough to me. Be firm yet not overbearing and follow through with consquences for actions. Praise when deserved too, of course but don't try to be your child's best pal.

That's not your job.

Be their parent and teach them how to grow up into well-adjusted, contributing members of society.

That IS your job.

Thought of The Day:"The thing that impresses me the most about America is the way parents obey their children."--King Edward VIII (1894 - 1952)

Until next time...peace, love & HEALTH!!!









Getting Back Into My Vortex | 2011-09-08

No, It's Not A Mirage | 2011-09-06

No More Mommy Exclusives on FB | 2010-07-06

My Personal Challenges | 2010-06-23

The Golden Rule Equals Epic Fail | 2010-04-06





Take Survey